quinn222: (Adam_tie)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 07:36pm on 28/10/2009
For Your Entertainment is the title of Adam Lambert's new CD.

I'm of the opinion that this title (also we now know the title of the first single) is a great big 'fuck that' from Adam re: certain industry assumptions. We know from an interview he gave during the summer tour that he read Feel, a biography of Robbie Williams. In fact he was reading it during the tour and while work on his CD was underway. Let me quote to you from that book:

"There are few dirtier words in the entertainment industry than entertainment. ...In the modern era to convey the trueness of your intentions it is generally considered obligatory to signal your indifference to the reaction of the audience.

...Somewhere along the way an illogical principle was accepted: That to be seen to entertain is to admit a lack of depth. Entertainers trade in general, shiny, shallow truisms; artists deal in deep, heartfelt, individual truths.

...Robbie Williams...is still unashamed to take all that mixed up baggage and entertain with it.”


Adam Lambert is a lot of things, stupid isn't one of them. I think this title was very well thought out.
There are 10 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] rae-1985.livejournal.com at 11:46pm on 28/10/2009
I didn't know that about the biography he was reading, but I figured there was something like that going on with the title. Adam loves to send a message with whatever he does.

I'm curious to know what you think about the cover itself. I'm not sure how I feel about it yet. I wish it was more Adam if that makes sense. It seems up until this point he's taken all the glitter, glam, and makeup and still portrayed a very masculine man. I don't know how he does it, maybe it's the sex on legs image I get from him. I just don't see that in the cd cover.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 12:30am on 29/10/2009
To be honest, I don't really want to talk about the cover! In large part because I know my opinion on it would turn into an essay.
I'll try a few brief thoughts though.
He loves it, it's campy and bowie-esque. I have no problem with the androgyny or even his look. The designer was clearly given the 'glittery alien from planet earth' brief. She's Japanese and I think that cultural sense shows in her work. My chief complaint with it is that (and I'm not sure exactly what led to this end result) Adam Lambert has more flash and charisma in one cell than most people have in their entire bodies, and yet none of that is in this photo. It could be a mannequin.

My suspicion is that this happened in the design process, not in the actual photograph. I think when she worked on his eyes she took too much expression out of them or something. It's the only thing I can come up with that would achieve that end result.
 
posted by [identity profile] redangelteflon.livejournal.com at 11:48pm on 28/10/2009
Brilliant! that didnt even occur to me! you need to make a post about this analysis on ONTD_AI

PLEASE?
I want to hear what people's thoughts on it are.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 11:59pm on 28/10/2009
ONTD_AI scares me to death. I'm afraid to post there.
 
posted by [identity profile] redangelteflon.livejournal.com at 12:11am on 29/10/2009
dont be! as much as there are stupidity and immaturity, most of the people there are full of LOVE.

you can also just post it in the adam centric community affiliated wt ONTD_AI called hooplamagnet
alot more Adam stans there, no haters.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 12:15am on 29/10/2009
It's not really news so probably not for hoopla. I'll post it on the comm but I'm blaming you and if people are mean to me I'm gonna cry. I'm just warning you now.
 
posted by [identity profile] redangelteflon.livejournal.com at 12:54am on 29/10/2009
awww! If someone makes you cry I will go and KICK SOME SERIOUS ASS! They wont know what hit them!
 
posted by [identity profile] vampgaia.livejournal.com at 12:08am on 30/10/2009
I don't watch "Idol" and never have. But the more you post about this guy, the more I want to get his album when it comes out.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 01:24am on 31/10/2009
I don't watch "Idol" and never have. But the more you post about this guy, the more I want to get his album when it comes out.

He is beyond talented, has a voice that is astonishing (can sing literally every single note on the guitar), and really audacious. On top of which he is just the sweetest, most well spoken guy. His single came out today and it's a dance pop tune about rough sex! Not your usual idol fare. Here are the lyrics:

So hot, out the box, can we pick up the pace?
Turn it up, heat it up, I need to be entertained.
Push the limit
Baby don’t be afraid.
I’ma hurt ya real good, baby.

Let’s go, it’s my show, baby do what I say.
Don’t trip off the glitz that I’m gonna display,

I told ya I’ma hold ya down until you’re amazed,
give it to ya till you’re screamin’ my name.

No escaping when I start,
once I’m in I own your heart,
there’s no way to ring the alarm,
so hold on until it’s over.

Oh
Do you know what you got into?
Can you handle what I’m ’bout to do?
‘Cause it’s about to get rough with you.
I’m here for your entertainment.

Oh
I bet you thought that I was soft and sweet,
you thought an angel swept you off your feet,
but I’m about to turn up the heat.
I’m here for your entertainment.

It’s alright, you’ll be fine, baby I’m in control.
Take the pain, take the pleasure, I’m the master of both.
Close your eyes, not your mind, let me into your soul.
I’ma work you till you’re totally blown.

No escaping when I start,
once I’m in I own your heart,
there’s no way to ring the alarm,
so hold on until it’s over.

Oh
Do you know what you got into?
Can you handle what I’m ’bout to do?
‘Cause it’s about to get rough with you.
I’m here for your entertainment.

Oh
I bet you thought that I was soft and sweet,
you thought an angel swept you off your feet,
but I’m about to turn up the heat.
I’m here for your entertainment.

Oh
I’m here for your entertainment.

Oh
Do you like what you see?
Oh
Let me entertain you till you scream.

Oh
Do you know what you got into?
Can you handle what I’m ’bout to do?
‘Cause it’s about to get rough with you.
I’m here for your entertainment.

Oh
I bet you thought that I was soft and sweet,
you thought an angel swept you off your feet,
but I’m about to turn up the heat.
I’m here for your entertainment.


Oh, and he appeared on Good Morning America a while ago and they were talking about how fans threw bras on stage at him (among other things) and the hosts were being a bit touchy about saying the word 'bra' and the entire time he was wearing a glove fashioned from a cock ring and bondage straps.

How can you not love a guy who wears a cock ring on GMA?
 
posted by [identity profile] vampgaia.livejournal.com at 02:44am on 31/10/2009
OMG I love him!!! LOLOL. I have got to get his album.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31