quinn222: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 10:34pm on 28/07/2009
Today is so not the day to accuse me of 'fan entitlement' just because I am willing to state publicly that Children of Earth was a badly written mess and that once you step away from the fact that you like Jack and Ianto you have to admit the whole death thing was fucking hilarious (though unintentionally so.)

Come on, there are Jack and Ianto waving their proverbial machetes and the alien just whips out his gun and shoots them. You all know what scene I am referring to. They got Indy'd! Then it cuts to the govt. folks watching on the TV and it was like they brushed their hands off and said, "OK, now that Torchwood has proven what morons and amateurs they are let's get back to Plan A shall we?"

Yet because I do not appreciate this fine writing as *art* I somehow fall under that dreaded title of "fan entitlement". Yeah. Not.
There are 7 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] ericadawn16.livejournal.com at 03:43am on 29/07/2009
But the puking, druggie aliens, wtf???

When they explained how the kids provide drugs for them, I laughed so HARD!
But the puking, the puking made absolutely no fucking sense. Now, if it were a cute alien, like ET or Stitch, the puking would have been absolutely hilarious.

Actually, Stitch admitting he likes to inhale kids and get high would be even more funny than the weird insect things. I think they should have gone for a cuter alien.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 12:26pm on 29/07/2009
Actually, Stitch admitting he likes to inhale kids and get high would be even more funny than the weird insect things. I think they should have gone for a cuter alien.

It would have made more sense than the hot mess that was CofE.
 
posted by [identity profile] rainydaycat.livejournal.com at 05:36am on 29/07/2009
Just dropping in to say word to all of that. There's been a really nasty air going around the fandom from people who seem to believe the only way you could not think CoE was amazing was because of bitter grapes. I watched Torchwood for the characters and the gay. There wasn't really any other reason to bother because the story lines were usually badly written with plot holes you could fly a spaceship through. For me it was always the show that had a cool concept but constantly failed to live up to the promise, but I still kept watching because there team was engaging and interesting.

If you have a well written show you can totally kill all your characters and I'll come back for more. If the only thing you have going for you is the characters and you kill them all off I'm not really going to have anything to distract me from the massive weaknesses inherent in your work.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 12:26pm on 29/07/2009
If you have a well written show you can totally kill all your characters and I'll come back for more. If the only thing you have going for you is the characters and you kill them all off I'm not really going to have anything to distract me from the massive weaknesses inherent in your work.

Exactly!
 
posted by [identity profile] beesandbrews.livejournal.com at 02:32pm on 29/07/2009
Hey, they did it in Life on Mars and most people (not all but most) considered it a happy ending when Sam died. (The star of the show. The POV character.) A logical, well written death can be okay.

There were many things wrong with CoE - not the least of which in my head, that Torchwood was marginalized in its own BLOCKBUSTER MINI-SERIES, the "Just say no to drugs" speech was just the tip of the iceberg.
 
posted by [identity profile] joesther.livejournal.com at 04:55pm on 29/07/2009
Yet because I do not appreciate this fine writing as *art* I somehow fall under that dreaded title of "fan entitlement". Yeah. Not.

Oy. Fandom. Hard to leave, impossible to kill. :P

I like what [livejournal.com profile] rainydaycat said. *nods*
 
posted by [identity profile] kel-reiley.livejournal.com at 10:15pm on 29/07/2009
They got Indy'd! Then it cuts to the govt. folks watching on the TV and it was like they brushed their hands off and said, "OK, now that Torchwood has proven what morons and amateurs they are let's get back to Plan A shall we?"

haha, best summary ever

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31