quinn222: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 06:50pm on 13/07/2009
WTF?



People are making death threats to James Moran? OK peeps, I didn't think anyone was as pissed off as I am over the disaster that was Children of Earth but c'mon. That's just nuts.

Do I think Mr. Moran is the greatest thing since sliced bread? Hell no. Loved the Captains blog and Sleeper. Didn't care for his episode of CofE.

Do I hold him responsible for Children of Earth? Nope (though his whiplash back and forth of denial/not denial is annoying.) I used to work at Blockbuster when I was in school. People used to scream and whine at us over the prices and the fees etc. JM had no more to do with the final plot of this thing than I did the prices at Blockbuster. He was a hired hand.

All that said, yeah, he does deserve some of what he's getting. Not violence and threats of course, but bad reviews? Sure. Extreme disappointment and even anger at the way the fans were mislead and lied to? Sure. Instead of a 'fuck off' letter he might have soothed a lot of feathers with an apology instead, but he comes across as too arrogant for that and that's a shame as I never got that impression from him before. Maybe it's just he has his back up from the crazies. I'm not saying he should apologize for the story (though God knows that would be nice) but for the extreme disappointment the writers knowingly caused the fans. Because make no mistake about it, they knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that many if not most of the fans were going to hate this, be hurt by it, be angry about it and be saddened by it. Leading the most loyal fans, the con goers, on by lying to them and using them to promote their product is unforgivable. Identifying Ianto throughtout even after his death as The Queer and then gassing him is unforgivable. Having only the hetero breeding couple come out unscathed without sacrifice is unforgivable. Seeing that bitch smiling at the end and stroking her healthy baby tummy made me want to gag. Killing 4 of 5 characters in a show and then claiming if there are good ratings it might be renewed is unforgivable.

But again, most of this is at the feet of RTD and since he delights in screwing over fans in every show he is involved in we ought to have seen it coming.

Threats are just nuts. Criticism on the other hand, is not.

There are 5 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 11:05pm on 13/07/2009
That's what I was referring to earlier. I don't know if it's twitter or his blog, but over the weekend things went nuts, prompting him to write that post on his blog.

I'm not happy with how things panned out, but I wouldn't wish death or physical harm on anyone.

Moving on now, waiting patiently for Leverage to resume on Wednesday.
 
posted by [identity profile] bentley1530.livejournal.com at 11:16pm on 13/07/2009
Yeah, I think most of this should be directed at RTD because this is what he does but I do think anyone involved who lied to the fans and used the fan to promote the show and did not see this backlash coming is just plain stupid.
To me this is a case of reaping what you sow.
 
posted by [identity profile] spacedye-vest.livejournal.com at 02:33am on 14/07/2009
Identifying Ianto throughtout even after his death as The Queer and then gassing him is unforgivable.
It is absolutely unforgivable, it still makes me feel disgusted.

most of this is at the feet of RTD
I'm sure that's the case, but since James Moran bragged about him being part of the whole creative process and decision taking...

Sorry for jumping in your journal so randomly.
 
posted by [identity profile] joesther.livejournal.com at 03:06am on 14/07/2009
This is just a thought that popped into my head while reading this post, and is, as such, not completely thought out, but I wonder how much of this plot was influenced by RTD's own selfloathing?
ext_9839: Yuko (Default)
posted by [identity profile] lukita.livejournal.com at 10:43am on 14/07/2009
Physical violence, no. But what else do they expect when they lied to the fans? I feel used because they promised a great story and not only didn't deliver, but then lashed out with "servicing the story" because they knew the fans would be upset? If he wants to "service stories" he can do it in a room where no one else are watching.

But then I'm dumping the entire mess at RTD's feet and I don't recognize CoE as part of canon.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31