quinn222: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 04:06pm on 12/07/2009
Message on James Moran's blog. It's basically a fuck off message:

http://jamesmoran.blogspot.com/2009/07/stepping-back.html




I don't blame him for being mad at being abused but I do blame him for his part in fucking up Torchwood. As he says himself we have a right to hate it and I do. He keeps insisting it was good story telling and I supposed he has to defend it that way and maybe he even believes it. In which case he's a lot less talented than I thought.

There are 6 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] manekikoneko.livejournal.com at 08:18pm on 12/07/2009
I've come to the conclusion, as you may or may not have seen on my journal, that while it was a good story in its own way, it was drastically premature, and served only to sever what Chris Chibnall had made of the show from what RTD had in mind at its onset. And as you and I and others have been saying, if they think they can come back to Torchwood and try to recenter the show around Gwen and get the same response as the first two series, they're going to be really disappointed.
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 08:35pm on 12/07/2009
I'm so over this. As you can see by the mess I've created I no longer have my Torchwood layout. I couldn't bear to look at it. He's right, he doesn't deserved to be abused by the fans. I won't do that. I personally just detest writers who think they must shake up the mix to make it interesting.

I'm pretty sure they are done with TW and I'd rather that than the Gwen show anyway. I could have lived with major character death if it made sense. There are several shows I've watched in the past where it happened and I continued to love them. This wasn't the case here. As I wrote on my own LJ this was let's burn the building down on the way out.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 08:45pm on 12/07/2009
I think that building has already burned. However, I've mentioned before. Their 'canon' is not the only canon. I've rejected end of season's successfully before and I will do it again here. S5 of QaF never happened as far as I am concerned and that's not even just 'talk', in my mind it truly never happened. I can hardly even remember what went on the Showtime version. In my world the boys were overseas somewhere while all that was going on.

I have every intention of simply ignoring this. As the ask_verse has made clear this was just the beeb taking terrible liberties with a 'documentary' ;-)
Edited Date: 2009-07-12 08:45 pm (UTC)
 
posted by [identity profile] bksbracelet.livejournal.com at 10:08pm on 12/07/2009
He is right he does not deserve abusive comment, however I do disagree with his comment that we as fans of a show do not have a right or a say in how a show plays out. Are we not who the shows are aimed at? are we able to make or break a show by just tuning in? i.e ratings!!

Intrestingly enough I noted he writes for Spooks they have just had a major character death that surprised me. Spooks has now lost my interest as well now. So I guess I am having a say! democracy at work lol
 
posted by [identity profile] gaedhal.livejournal.com at 12:26am on 13/07/2009
The more these disasters go down the more I admire Michael Patrick
King, who stated that he could have written an end of "Sex and the
City" that would have been "realistic" -- i.e., Carrie as another
aging female alone in NYC -- but that he felt he "owed" (his word)
the fans who had supported the show for six seasons the ending they
craved -- a happy, romantic ending, even if it wasn't the most
edgy or realistic one possible. It was his thank you, rather than
the fuck you we got from CowLip and the Torchwood gang.
Edited Date: 2009-07-13 12:29 am (UTC)
 
posted by [identity profile] court1429.livejournal.com at 03:52am on 13/07/2009
And you know, there's nothing in the world wrong with that choice. I fully support it and I'm sure the fans are grateful. And I notice there's yet another movie in the works, too. (so saying as one who's never see one episode of that show and yet I still feel I know a lot about it. lol)

As a writer, it probably is fun to shake things up. Doesn't mean it's the right choice. And there is something to be said for feeling a sense of obligation to your fans. Fans who've enriched the writers' and producers' bank accounts substantially. I mean, if they'd gone with the big fuck you three seasons back, well, there probably wouldn't have been subsequent seasons. I'm not referring to any specific show, just observing.

There are definitely *creative* ways to end a show without it being a stereotypical Harlequin/chickflick romance ending that still give a show's viewers a satisfactory ending; just takes a creative writer.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31