I expected hoped to be waking up all happy and bouncy today.
Not so much. It's always so sad when a show you've loved ends forever.
Especially when it's done in such a stupid way. I can't believe how many people are fawning over james Moran and others on their blogs about how 'brilliant' it was. It wasn't brilliant, it was stupid. Technically well done stupidity but stupid nonetheless.
How, exactly, did the 456 know they could get high from kids in 1965? Just a wild guess? were there some secret stoner 456 here already who figured it out?
Why bother negotionating? They could control and stop the kids, why not just beam them up in their golden transport beam?
No one from 1965 ever worried they mnight be back and did any research into how to stop them?
Jack and Ianto knew they were facing a creature in a poison tank, but didn't take gas masks or hazmat suits?
Torchwood and Jack in particular came across as feeble and useless. Remember that classic scene in Indiana Jones? Where the guy goes off on Indy with a knife and Indy just shoots him? That just what the 456 did to Jack and Ianto.
Ianto gets set up as The Queer. Of course The Queer must die. Fuck you RTD.
Seriously. We all know how clever and amazing Ianto is but the shiny new audience has no clue. His sister called him Bender, his BIL called him gay boy and told him he 'takes it up the ass', he finds them a place to stay and goes shopping (if they had had another day or two would we have seen him buying curtains and decorating the place?) and Clem calls him The Queer. Then he gets gassed. Subtle. Really subtle. How about a pink triangle on his body bag?
Martha has a phone to call The Doctor but I guess she couldn't be arsed to take a few minutes from her honeymoon.
Oh, and I said this in the comments but editing to add here:
It would have been laughable if it wasn't so annoying. Ms. Super Cooper (the least experience TW member and incompetent extraordinaire) has to teach Jack how to steal a laptop or a car? Jack, who has been a con-man for 2000 years and has stolen spaceships in his time??? Or Ianto, with his mispent youth? Give me a break.
Oh hey, at least I saved some money. I canceled my DVD order and I was shopping for a new HD TV. Since I no longer have any TV shows I watch guess I can put that on hold.
Is there anyone still unspoiled out there? I'm tired of putting everything behind a cut.
Not so much. It's always so sad when a show you've loved ends forever.
Especially when it's done in such a stupid way. I can't believe how many people are fawning over james Moran and others on their blogs about how 'brilliant' it was. It wasn't brilliant, it was stupid. Technically well done stupidity but stupid nonetheless.
How, exactly, did the 456 know they could get high from kids in 1965? Just a wild guess? were there some secret stoner 456 here already who figured it out?
Why bother negotionating? They could control and stop the kids, why not just beam them up in their golden transport beam?
No one from 1965 ever worried they mnight be back and did any research into how to stop them?
Jack and Ianto knew they were facing a creature in a poison tank, but didn't take gas masks or hazmat suits?
Torchwood and Jack in particular came across as feeble and useless. Remember that classic scene in Indiana Jones? Where the guy goes off on Indy with a knife and Indy just shoots him? That just what the 456 did to Jack and Ianto.
Ianto gets set up as The Queer. Of course The Queer must die. Fuck you RTD.
Seriously. We all know how clever and amazing Ianto is but the shiny new audience has no clue. His sister called him Bender, his BIL called him gay boy and told him he 'takes it up the ass', he finds them a place to stay and goes shopping (if they had had another day or two would we have seen him buying curtains and decorating the place?) and Clem calls him The Queer. Then he gets gassed. Subtle. Really subtle. How about a pink triangle on his body bag?
Martha has a phone to call The Doctor but I guess she couldn't be arsed to take a few minutes from her honeymoon.
Oh, and I said this in the comments but editing to add here:
It would have been laughable if it wasn't so annoying. Ms. Super Cooper (the least experience TW member and incompetent extraordinaire) has to teach Jack how to steal a laptop or a car? Jack, who has been a con-man for 2000 years and has stolen spaceships in his time??? Or Ianto, with his mispent youth? Give me a break.
Oh hey, at least I saved some money. I canceled my DVD order and I was shopping for a new HD TV. Since I no longer have any TV shows I watch guess I can put that on hold.
Is there anyone still unspoiled out there? I'm tired of putting everything behind a cut.
(no subject)
(no subject)
Yes, there are.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
It's too bad, the show had so much potential and just a few thoughtful changes would have made it excellent.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
I think a cut may be needed until after the US airing.
(no subject)
Of course she'll be running TW, there is no one else left and that was the whole point. This was all just a set up for the Super Cooper show. If you had never seen TW and this was your intro you would believe that Gwen was in charge. That's how she was positioned in this ep with Jack as a special guest star and Ianto as the Gay Red Shirt.
It would have been laughable if it wasn't so annoying. Ms. Super Cooper (the least experience TW member and incompetent extraordinaire) has to teach Jack how to steal a laptop or a car? Jack, who has been a con-man for 2000 years and has stolen spaceship in his time??? Or Ianto, with his mispent youth? Give me a break.
I think I'll add that to my original post.
(no subject)
Exactly! Yet Frobisher and co spend all this time trying to do away with the original members from 1965, but don't come up with a plan for if they come back? Neither Unit nor come up with a plan in the event they return?
puleeze!
I suspect the next series will have the supercooper and spawn in charge of both Unit & TW. Ratings apparently dropped from 6.2M for ep 4 to 5.8M for ep 5. Way to kill a show.
(no subject)
Yes! I don't know why more people aren't saying this?
(no subject)
(no subject)
I know I will because I want to see the three of them one last time, but I wonder if a lot of other people will just watch the first three episodes through other means and skip BBCA entirely.
I haven't seen a body count this high since Angel ended.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
What do you really think, Quinn. bawhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
It doesn't matter. I still liked all of these. Just consider what else there is to watch.
You are right about Ianto and honestly, I don't understand it.
I'm curious what John Barrowman thought of the wording and the message.
Now that I've had time to mull it over and your observation, I'm more than a bit miffed by it.
(no subject)
The part where they didn't want to bother her on her honeymoon stopped being a good explanation for her absence, when the 456 became a worldwide threat. Wouldn't UNIT insist on one of their more experienced employees on duty, newlywed or not? The last encounter with the Daleks took out a lot of their seasoned personell. And wouldn't Team Torchwood ask her help before they turned to Frobisher, when they know someone working for the governement tried to take them out, holiday or not?
And of course you're right about conman Jack. If PC Cooper "knows every trick in the book", Captain Harkness wrote the damn thing. *shakes head*
I have yet to see the last episode and I'm not sure we have enough chocolate in th ehouse to make it through that pile of rubbish, even though I am completely spoiled now.
(no subject)
Why bother negotionating? They could control and stop the kids, why not just beam them up in their golden transport beam?
No one from 1965 ever worried they mnight be back and did any research into how to stop them?
Jack and Ianto knew they were facing a creature in a poison tank, but didn't take gas masks or hazmat suits?
Torchwood and Jack in particular came across as feeble and useless. Remember that classic scene in Indiana Jones? Where the guy goes off on Indy with a knife and Indy just shoots him? That just what the 456 did to Jack and Ianto.
Ianto gets set up as The Queer. Of course The Queer must die. Fuck you RTD.
all of this - in the first couple episodes, there were plot holes i was willing to overlook, but no, after that, just no
(no subject)
Please keep the cut a while longer, I really want to watch it, not read it :)
(no subject)
If this was going to be the set-up, why didn't they tie it
in to the previous storyline about Grey and the horrible aliens
who took away children -- i.e., they took Grey and enslaved
him? This could have been a truly emotional connection with
Jack's past/future and given him a real reason to want to
defeat them. We already had an investment/knowledge of Jack
and his brother and father -- dragging in a family we knew
nothing about seems a real WTF? Connecting the aliens to
those that took Grey also gives Jack (and Grey) a chance
to redeem themselves. Grey has intimate knowledge of the
aliens that no one else on Earth has -- convincing him to
work with his hated brother sets up amazing conflict
and doesn't depend on all these new characters who are
tossed in because Davies wrote this story apart from
"Torchwood" and then crammed it into the Torchwood world
(and that's true, too, not my speculation -- you can tell
it's not an "organic" "Torchwood" story -- nothing makes
sense in the way the characters act!).
If the idea was just to rip apart the fabric of the show,
then they succeeded, but it was so unnecessary, since
even an idiot like me can think of ways to make the
same basic premise fit -- and without gutting everything
the real fans loved about it.
(no subject)
The Martha thing really nagged at me - she's apparently honeymooning on a internet free island with no children so she didn't notice the big problem looming?
(no subject)
And the more I think about it, the worse the writing seems to me. And the more ... ugly the possibilities as to what they were up to with Ianto.
Why, for instance, after that kiss at the end of Ep1, does Jack not even touch him again until the death scene? Not even when Ianto has rescued him (rescued all of them) in Ep 2. When has there even been a "we've somehow survived" scene in TW that hasn't involved hugs all round? And Ianto doesn't even get the hand slap that Gwen got.
Didn't like that. Didn't like it at all.