posted by
quinn222 at 08:25pm on 30/05/2009
I've been thinking about this all week but trying to give my flsit a break on the whole Adam fangirl stuff so didn't post it. I ended up posting in a reply to a question posted by
etharei. She wanted to know if we thought Adam should make an official 'yes I am gay' statement, as he is rumoured to be doing in Rolling Stone.
This was my reply:
Here's my opinion on 'the statement' thing.
I don't think he sould have to make a statement. However, I do think the AI people put him in a position where he pretty much has no choice.
Some sleezoid reporter actually went for his mom and tried to get her to answer 'the question' (and really, how dumb is that? He's never been in the closet) and she replied that not only had Adam signed a contract in which he could say nothing she and the rest of his family had also done so, so even if she wanted to say something she couldn't.
So during the show Adam said nothing. And none of the other contestants pronounced their sexual orientation either and it's entirely possible that Adam was not the only Gay contestant after all, not to mention some of them might even be hetero but they refuse to confirm it.
Then, on the red carpet, right after the finale, a reporter asked Adam "So now idol is over are you gay?" Assuming Adam was free to say at that point can you imagine what would have happened? Poor Kris was already sort of shoved to the back even though he won since everyone is all about Adam , if Adam had answered he'd (Kris) have been shoved to the back pages.
So now Adam is in this weird place of he may not be allowed to say, he may not have wanted to say right away just so as not to overshadow Kris, and since he hasn't said yet it's become an issue for some folks. But he lands an interview with RS and it is far enough out not to impact Kris any more so when asked he answers. Why not? He isn't in the closet and never has been. But of course, instead of just a simple answer it all gets hyped into 'Adam comes out on the cover of Rolling Stone!!!!!!!!!!!!!'
This was my reply:
Here's my opinion on 'the statement' thing.
I don't think he sould have to make a statement. However, I do think the AI people put him in a position where he pretty much has no choice.
Some sleezoid reporter actually went for his mom and tried to get her to answer 'the question' (and really, how dumb is that? He's never been in the closet) and she replied that not only had Adam signed a contract in which he could say nothing she and the rest of his family had also done so, so even if she wanted to say something she couldn't.
So during the show Adam said nothing. And none of the other contestants pronounced their sexual orientation either and it's entirely possible that Adam was not the only Gay contestant after all, not to mention some of them might even be hetero but they refuse to confirm it.
Then, on the red carpet, right after the finale, a reporter asked Adam "So now idol is over are you gay?" Assuming Adam was free to say at that point can you imagine what would have happened? Poor Kris was already sort of shoved to the back even though he won since everyone is all about Adam , if Adam had answered he'd (Kris) have been shoved to the back pages.
So now Adam is in this weird place of he may not be allowed to say, he may not have wanted to say right away just so as not to overshadow Kris, and since he hasn't said yet it's become an issue for some folks. But he lands an interview with RS and it is far enough out not to impact Kris any more so when asked he answers. Why not? He isn't in the closet and never has been. But of course, instead of just a simple answer it all gets hyped into 'Adam comes out on the cover of Rolling Stone!!!!!!!!!!!!!'
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
One thing I did read was by his brother Neil, who said that Adam didn't want his personal history to be part of his "package" on AI, and that he wanted the focus to be on his singing. I respect him (and Kris) for doing exactly that. The media that has been making a big deal about this have made me realize that they just don't really know how to deal with a situation like this. Here's an openly gay man who just shows up and does his thing with no apologies -- it's great that Adam is so matter of fact, but some people just don't know how to respond to him. Hee.
(no subject)
Adding that I LOVE how Adam has dropped little (and not so little) innuendo here and there, suggesting he's not trying to hide anything, really... My favorite example being the US Weekly online interview that he did with Kris...
If you didn't catch it (and really, you should YouTube it if you didn't, because it's priceless), they're asked who gets the top bunk on the American Idol tour bus... Kris fumbles for a second and then says "I don't care"... Then Adam says, completely straight-faced and matter-of-factly, "I like the top." Kris looks like he's about to lose his shit, then Adam doubles over laughing, as does Kris. It ends with Adam saying, "That was inappropriate" with Kris adding "That was good... That was good" Hehe.
(no subject)
(no subject)
If this link works, it's Drake sitting next to Adam's mom in the AI audience. He's not hard on the eyes either, hehe:
Drake (http://adamlambertsite.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/adam-and-drake-audience.jpg)
Re: the Rolling Stone issue that's allegedly upcoming... I hope Adam doesn't go with one of the "YES I'M GAY" Clay Aiken-esque covers. It needs to say something sassy like "DUHHHH" or "AS IF YOU DIDN'T KNOW"....
(no subject)
(no subject)
And yeah, re: Rolling Stone. I know he can't pick it, I just hope it's not something lame. (Wishful.)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)