quinn222: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 06:59am on 19/10/2006
I'm getting ready to leave but had a few thoughts on PR,



This finale spoke to all that is wrong in fashion and all that was wrong with S3 project runway. During the show Uli and Laura clearly had the most beautiful, wearable collections. And they were wearable by a large cross section on women. You didn't have to be 6 feet tall and weigh 100 pounds to wear them. Even in the judging they all said how beautiful they were, how every woman would want to wear them, how buyers already were trying to find out how to get them. But did they win? No. Instead they chose mostly unwearable, not pretty clothes that very few women could wear or would even want to wear.

I've seen pictures of Heidi Klum ( as have we all) either candid shots or red carpet shots, she doesn't wear that kind of stuff. I've seen Michael Kors shows and his stuff in stores, he doesn't design stuff like that. That lady from Fashion Week sure as hell isn't going to wear anything like what Jeffrey sent down the runway. So why on earth was he the winner? I didn't see anything innovative. Just ugly and weirdly cut. The one point I'll give him was that for the most part his collection flowed well from one piece to the other. But he had two real dogs (those blue dresses) and the fit on some of the things was way off.

Getting to the "did Jeffrey sew his own collection?" question. I have no idea. But I will tell you that if I broke the rules and had someone lese sew for me, I sure as hell wouldn't put in the receipts for it! Was that supposed to be proof he didn't have someone else sew for him? That he didn't turn in receipts for it? He has a studio and a staff, anyone could have sewn those things. I'm not saying he didn't and should have been kicked off, but saying he must have sewn them because he didn't give us receipts saying someone else did is just ludicrous.


Ok, I'm off on my vacation now! See you next week.
There are 8 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] shadownyc.livejournal.com at 11:37am on 19/10/2006
ITA! I was very disheartened by this finale and question whether I will watch at all during the next season. I might stop in, but I don't trust the judges motivation any more. :/

On a better note: HAVE A FABULOUS VACATION!!!
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 01:25pm on 19/10/2006
I think the difference was because he has a studio he probably also has the professional machines AND expertise needed to make perfect seems. I'm not sure if he did or didn't cheat. I wouldn't be suprised if he did. But I am certain he could go to his lead sewer and say, "I need help using this machine for these leather pants." None of the other designers have that option.
His collection was pure runway. No one will buy/wear that except for a handfull of celebs. Laura's stuff had class & Uli's was 100% wearable. Mostly I am dissapointed in BRAVO. The drawn out drama wore me out this season. They also gave away the winner by having the ad forLaura's blog on the website before the show ended. Have any ot the other winners had blogs? No, only the runner ups.
Oh well, on to Top Chef.
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 01:25pm on 19/10/2006
oh yeah, HAVE A GREAT VACTION!!!!
 
posted by [identity profile] rhiannonhero.livejournal.com at 01:41pm on 19/10/2006
Huh. I have to say that I don't agree. Jeffrey was my favorite and I am glad he won. *shrug* I think, though, the judges made a great point when they said that all four finalists have a place in fashion and will all have careers in fashion.

I leave you with my Santino icon. My fave from last season. Obviously, I like the assholes. LOL!
 
posted by [identity profile] reboot-wlm.livejournal.com at 02:41pm on 19/10/2006
This was my first and last PR. Jeffrey's clothes have a certain flare but do not appeal to me. But beyond that the whole overdone drama of it was boring towards the end. To have it decided at fashion week and then drag it out another month or so killed it IMO. I didn't watch the last four weeks of it because they lost me when network TV started their season.

Bravo burns me out on these shows because they drag them out too long. Top Chef being another example. Watched it last year but could care less this year.

I'm sure all the finalists will do well.
 
posted by [identity profile] mmmorpheusq.livejournal.com at 03:56pm on 19/10/2006
I can't stand Jeffrey and I hate his clothes. That being said, according to some of the knowledgeable fashionistas who post on the TwoP PR message boards, this type of Fashion Week show is meant to showcase a designer's innovation, the clothes themselves, like haute couture, are not necessarily meant to be wearable in themselves but to represent a designer's overall style and direction, blah-blah-blah.

Not saying I agree with the choice of winner (I loathe that bastard and his clothes are mostly ugly) but as much as I love Uli's clothes and respect Laura's, neither of them was a fresh, exciting new direction for clothing - all their stuff, though beautiful, has been done before. So I do think Jeffrey, the toad, is innovative, and I think that's why they made him the winner.
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 05:10pm on 19/10/2006
That being said, according to some of the knowledgeable fashionistas who post on the TwoP PR message boards, this type of Fashion Week show is meant to showcase a designer's innovation, the clothes themselves, like haute couture, are not necessarily meant to be wearable in themselves but to represent a designer's overall style and direction, blah-blah-blah.

I beg to differ, what did Jeffrey do that hasn't been done by Vivienne Westwood or Jean Paul Gaultier, or even Patricia Feild, and Heatherette?

Last year they said they took into consideration the work the designer did the entire season when they gave Chloe the win, yet this season Jeffrey had 3 wins, but was in the bottom 2 three imes as well. I wish they would just admit they pull this crap out their asses and be done with it.
 
posted by [identity profile] gaedhal.livejournal.com at 06:27pm on 19/10/2006
Chiming in to agree with everything you said.

The reason why "fashion" is basically irrelevant to
most women -- who live in jeans and sweatpants --
is that kind of attitude.

Five women in L.A. might wear Jeffrey's clothes.
Thousands will want Uli's. She'll do just fine in
the long run.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31