quinn222: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 05:36am on 24/08/2006
I hate being spoiled. Last night I fell asleep before this came on. I wasn't worried because I was recording it. Unfortunately I woke up and the TV was on and I heard them all saying goodbye to



Robert.

So I was bummed going in. I love Robert.

So, Jeffrey was such a shit to Angela's mother. Also that dress was beyond bad. As bad as Angela's outfit was (and it was very bad), Jeffrey's was worse. Yes, Robert's was kind of dull, but at least it bore a resemblance to what the client wanted and she looked nice in it. Poor Angela's Mom looked as though she was wearing rags.

Vincent - it shoudn't have won because it suffered from Vincent syndrome. It was pretty (not my taste but I could see where you could like it), well made and it fit well. But it still suffered from the fact that Vincent sees things in two dimensions. It had that collar framing her face but it ended at her shoulders! She turned around and there was nothing. He never has any detail on the backs of his garments. That collar just ended, it didn't wrap around the back of the dress. I'm not even sure the belt went around the back.

Angela - please. What was she thinking? Baggy, all that fringe and slouchy fabric. What a mess.

Kayne - I think the judges were too harsh. He designed an every day outfit and it was cute. Maybe Michael's mother didn't want to show some skin. Given the conservative outfit she had on when we met her I tend to doubt she'd want that.

Michael - As ususal he did a great job but WTH was with that belt and that big loop sticking out the front?

Laura - This was a mis-step. Her stuff all has a very similar style because (as Robert pointed out last week) she designs for herself. What looks good on her did not look good on her model. I forget who she was designing for and apparently so did she.

Uli - Lovely outfit. The style was pretty much what you'd expect to see for a plus sized lady and I expect that that is why she didn't win. She uses fabrics better than anyone else on this show though.

It was painful to watch that exchange between Jeffrey and Angela's mother. What was he thinking? He was really cruel to her. I think he has super thin skin and when he feels hurt or offended he lashes out. Instead of seeing that she had doubts about the colour he took it as an attack on himself. This is his client and not only that, he had to know that she was going to be standing there on the runway and be asked about the dress.

So, had it been up to me I have no idea who I'd have had win. Probably Uli but maybe Michael. I tend to think Michael shot himself in the foot by choosing the thinnest model. Though given the nasty comments last week about Allison's model they might not have had the sense to realise the giving the win to the designer with the skinny model wouldn't go over very well. After all, anyone could design for Robert's sister.

The loser would have been Angela or Jeffrey. Probably Jeffrey as his looked badly made in addition to ugly. Hers just looked ugly.

I'm really going to miss Robert and seeing Robert and Kayne together.

I can't wait to listen to Tim's podcast on ths one!
There are 15 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] shadownyc.livejournal.com at 10:11am on 24/08/2006
I definitely think that Jeffrey should have been out. I thought his outfit was an insult to both his model and the fashion industry. It was insulting.

I was sad to see Robert go, but I think that what the judges had said about his lack of inspiration or creativity over the past few weeks was true. While his tailoring was good, he wasn't showing anything that I would have considered the quality of fashion designer. That said, his garment was MUCH better than Jeffrey's or Angela's.

I personally think that either Michael or Uli should have won last night.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 12:41am on 25/08/2006
I thought his outfit was an insult to both his model and the fashion industry.

Tim called it a fashion bitchslap.
 
posted by [identity profile] mcpofife.livejournal.com at 10:49am on 24/08/2006
I thought that as far as the assignment went, Vincent deserved his win. He is batshit insane and his garments are usually train-wrecks, but this one suited his model and was nicely tailored. I hated the collar, though. If Michael had made a better belt my vote would've been with him. Something shorter and less messy, instead of that thing that looked like it belonged to a robe.

Who are you rooting for to win the whole shebang?

here's Runway Justin ;))
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 12:41am on 25/08/2006
that thing that looked like it belonged to a robe.

You're right! That's just what it looked like!
 
posted by [identity profile] runiebug.livejournal.com at 01:02pm on 24/08/2006
The problem I have with Vincent isn't that he's crazy (he is) but that he is oblivious to women. His clother are not only two dimensional (as you have pointed out on a number of occasions) they are without any nod to the female form. They all are constructed like they sit on hangers and from the shoulders down they are utterly straight. They could be worn by girls or boys. That's ok, sometimes, I mean Laura's flat as a board, but at least her clothes maintain the illusion of showcasing breasts. Vincent's clothes cannot be worn by anyone with breasts, or hips and forget about defining a waist. He is utterly narcissistic, could care about women and I don't see what Tim sees in him.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 01:07pm on 24/08/2006
I don't see what Tim sees in him.

Tim doesn't see anything in him, Tim loathes him, as he makes no bones about in his podcast. I don't think I've ever heard Tim be as honest about disliking someone as he is about Vicent. He was still making it clear today that he thought Vincent should have gone home.
 
posted by [identity profile] runiebug.livejournal.com at 01:16pm on 24/08/2006
I've never listened to the podcast; perhaps I should. I was deducing from the hug and chuckles Tim gave Vincent when looking at that piece of cardboard Vincent called "art" last week.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 01:18pm on 24/08/2006
OMG Tim's poscast is the best! I look forward to it every week even more than the show.
 
posted by [identity profile] bernadettecin.livejournal.com at 11:40pm on 24/08/2006
I just listened to Tim's podcast. Wow! I am going to go back and listen to the rest. I love hearing his thoughts.
 
posted by [identity profile] kjsilopanna.livejournal.com at 12:02pm on 25/08/2006
Me too! I almost feel bad for Vincent with how much Tim rags on him, but then I remember how much I hate Vincent, too, and it's all okay. Tim Gunn is my hero.
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 01:53pm on 24/08/2006
Unless there is stuff they are not telling or showing us, I think Tim's dislike of Vincet is clouding his judgement. If anybody,I think Jeffrey should have gone hom for that matronly Sears polyester looking design.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 02:32pm on 24/08/2006
He was still talking about last week. That he thought Vincent and not Allison should have gone home.
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 01:51pm on 24/08/2006
It was painful to watch that exchange between Vincent and Angela's mother.
I think you mean Jeffrey and Angela's mother.

I was saddened on 2 fronts with this First Jefrrey's behavoir & his mother enabling of said behavoir. What was up with her going and making excuses for him and then going back to placate him? UGH! Two the befuddled reactions most of the designers had to having to design for larger women. Have they never heard of Lane Bryants? How about Marina Rinaldi? Even Liz Claireborne had a plus size line. There is more to large fashion than shapeless garments.

Honestly I would have given the win to Uli, but I'm not entirely upset with Vincent's design. I hope Jefrrey never ever wins a challenge and goes home with the knowledge that Vincent has won a challenge a he hasn't.
 
posted by [identity profile] hephaistion-lo.livejournal.com at 03:10pm on 24/08/2006
And that Angela has. lol


I still hate him for the femi-nazi comment--among his other anti-women comments. He's such a Neanderthal. :(
 
posted by [identity profile] claramarie12.livejournal.com at 03:15pm on 24/08/2006
I'm going to miss Robert, too-- easily the funniest guy on the show! If you start losing all the fun personality, the show becomes boring-- thank goodness for Kayne, and Laura's snarky comments. I thought Uli's outfit was the best, but I usually don't pick the winner each week so what do I know?

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31