I am shocked that they would consider wearing rings for a civil union. I mean, that a very mirriage-type thing to me, and they are NOT getting married.
I know that Ted's good at keeping his mouth shut, but wow, it can't be easy! Also, thank you for confirming my suspicions about the party :)
You know what would totally kill me (it's one of my sex-kinks)?
Brian "wearing" his ring on a looooong very very fine chain/necklace (better if both are platinum)...something like that on his bare chest would look so fucking sexy I'd probably die. :x:x:x
It's so funny how "DUH!" they both have been about this whole thing. On the other hand, I can see Justin wearing a ring, but not brian, although who knows?
Whoa. There are not enough walls on that shower. Not only is Brian going to queen out all the time about the floor getting wet, but he's going to have to be a good shot when he throws Justin up against the shower glass or he'll miss!
Breaking everybody's expectations would be so Brian. I'll be more than fitting to wear a ring. Might be in the majority, but to me it'll be totally in character to do that. Go Brian!
As much as I like the idea of rings, it made me confused. You did establish that B/J decided they were NOT getting married, but just a civil union. But wouldn't rings being on the marriage side of things?
I've loved reading this and all your other stories. I like that you're having them make choices about the various pieces of commitment, rather than blindly accepting a 'marriage package'. Don't forget that they need to get jewelry from someplace that doesn't buy conflict jewels (I don't know if it's the same for gold/platinum as it is for diamonds, but gotta say it). And I think it would be neat (more work for you, but neat) if sometime there was a journal of more than two pages and you had to click to turn the page. I admit I was thrilled at the double posts this week.
I wear a ring. It's pretty much a wedding-"style" ring. I am not married to my partner, nor do I plan to be. Rings aren't necessarily a sign of marriage, nor have they always been historically. If they decide to wear rings, it can be for a simple reminder that they love each other, particularly since S5 hasn't happened in this 'verse and they haven't had the "we don't need rings and vows" speech. They can wear it on their right hands, or on another finger, which is what most of my married/partnered gay friends have done, actually
BTW, Quinn, I read your LJ every day and I've enjoyed this entire run. Sorry for lurking for so long! :)
I know many married straight couples, including my parents, who don't wear rings because of the "property of" thing, and several civil union same sex and opposite sex couples who do. At the end of the day it is a very personal decision based on a wide variety of reasons. I like the way your B/J are discussing the whole issue.
(no subject)
Once again I LOVE your universe! If they pick my favorite rings I just might die of happy!
(no subject)
(no subject)
I know that Ted's good at keeping his mouth shut, but wow, it can't be easy! Also, thank you for confirming my suspicions about the party :)
(no subject)
(no subject)
You know what would totally kill me (it's one of my sex-kinks)?
Brian "wearing" his ring on a looooong very very fine chain/necklace (better if both are platinum)...something like that on his bare chest would look so fucking sexy I'd probably die. :x:x:x
/shallow
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Nicki
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
I wear a ring. It's pretty much a wedding-"style" ring. I am not married to my partner, nor do I plan to be. Rings aren't necessarily a sign of marriage, nor have they always been historically. If they decide to wear rings, it can be for a simple reminder that they love each other, particularly since S5 hasn't happened in this 'verse and they haven't had the "we don't need rings and vows" speech. They can wear it on their right hands, or on another finger, which is what most of my married/partnered gay friends have done, actually
BTW, Quinn, I read your LJ every day and I've enjoyed this entire run. Sorry for lurking for so long! :)
(no subject)
And, I loved this part. As always.
(no subject)
(no subject)