I spent a good part of yesterday following the progress of Barbaro's surgery. Such a relief to see him on his feet this morning. I know he's still in danger but at least he's got a chance of survival.
That's been big news here as well. I'm not really a horse person, but it was heartbreaking to see the horse limping knowing so often horses get put down for things like that.
I went back and re-read my pre-Derby comments and noticed that I mentioned that I thought Barbaro's extremely light racing schedule suggested a physical problem -- in other words, they were not pushing him to race more because of some detected weakness. I hope that wasn't actually the case and they felt they needed to race him on only two weeks rest because the Triple Crown was at stake.
I'm keeping my fingers crossed. He seems a strong and determined animal. Those are the ones that often survive.
I live less than a mile from a racetrack. My father used to drive the vet out to destroy the animals on the track. Not pretty. not pretty at all. Barbaro has a tough road ahead, but a long one hopefully. New Bolton is the best.
I didn't see the race but heard about it afterwards on the news. It brought back bad memories of watching poor Ruffian break down in that damned match race where I cried buckets after seeing that horrific sight.
Here's hoping he cooperates with his vets and doesn't hurt himself even more.
Never actually heard of Barbaro but I take it that he is a race horse?
At least they are trying to save his life, I do hate it when horses suffer inuries and get shot.. I remember going to one race and my horse (the one I bet on that is) literally broke his leg in front of me, it was horrific and I can still close my eyes and see it happen in slow motion now.
Yes, he won the Kentucky Derby two weeks ago and on Saturday broke his leg very very badly just out of the gate in the Preakness Stakes. Just horrible.
I didn't see the race last night because I was working, but I saw it on the news when I came home, and I cried. I'm glad he pulled through the surgery, even if he's not out of the woods yet.
Thanks for the photo update I just got home from work and hadn't heard today's update. I work in a veterinary hospital and of course this tragic event was all the discussion today. The talk of where you put screws in the bones and how difficult that must have been with the severe damage. Makes your skin crawl I tell ya! Watching the race Sat my stomach turned when they showed the horse being pulled up. It only takes an instant to shatter those fragile bones and horses cannot recoup like we humans do, lying around. Each day he survives is a major hurdle so here's hoping this strong horse pulls through to have a good life of leisure. (well and producing some race winner foals)
I am so hoping that he survives. I was just watching "Dreamer" (similar storyline - good horse breaks leg and comes back to race again) Saturday but hadn't heard the Preakness outcome at the time. Very surreal to read it in the paper the next day.
I'll just be happy is this one survives and lives a long healthy life in retirement.
Any animal in pain breaks my heart. I can't get through my ASPCA newsletter without crying. The sad thing about horses is they can't survive with 3 legs so it's all or nothing. All the reports of Barbaro's post surgery actions are hugely encouraging. I will be heartbroken if he doesn't pull through. I need to go hug my dogs. Give Dandy a nice scratch from me.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
that I mentioned that I thought Barbaro's extremely
light racing schedule suggested a physical problem --
in other words, they were not pushing him to race more
because of some detected weakness. I hope that wasn't
actually the case and they felt they needed to race him
on only two weeks rest because the Triple Crown was at
stake.
I'm keeping my fingers crossed. He seems a strong and
determined animal. Those are the ones that often survive.
(no subject)
(no subject)
Sending Barbaro all my best wishes...
Here's hoping he cooperates with his vets and doesn't hurt himself even more.
(no subject)
(no subject)
I hope so too but he's still in grave danger. They're giving him a 50/50 shot at this point. Still, it's far better than I expected.
(no subject)
At least they are trying to save his life, I do hate it when horses suffer inuries and get shot.. I remember going to one race and my horse (the one I bet on that is) literally broke his leg in front of me, it was horrific and I can still close my eyes and see it happen in slow motion now.
He wasn;t so lucky :( certainly makes me sad
(no subject)
Yes, he won the Kentucky Derby two weeks ago and on Saturday broke his leg very very badly just out of the gate in the Preakness Stakes. Just horrible.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
I work in a veterinary hospital and of course this tragic event was all the discussion today. The talk of where you put screws in the bones and how difficult that must have been with the severe damage. Makes your skin crawl
I tell ya!
Watching the race Sat my stomach turned when they showed the horse being pulled up. It only takes an instant to shatter those fragile bones and horses cannot recoup like we humans do, lying around. Each day he survives is a major hurdle so here's hoping this strong horse pulls through to have a good life of leisure. (well and producing some race winner foals)
(no subject)
I'll just be happy is this one survives and lives a long healthy life in retirement.
(no subject)
Best wishes to the champ!
(no subject)