posted by
quinn222 at 08:30pm on 22/04/2006
My dad has been looking for a new car. Kind of. He doesn't really like to deal with these things but it's one of those things that had to be done. Since I get his hand-me down cars I always take a mild interest in the proceedings. He and my mother have been bickering over it because he just wanted to buy another one of the car he already has and which he dislike from the moment he bought it. Yes, it doesn't make any sense but that's my dad in a nutshell. Go with what's familiar. He refused to look at any of the cars my mother wanted. So this afternoon I offered to take him to look at Toyotas. A car neither one of them wanted but which seemed to aplit the difference between what he wanted and what she wanted. We left the house at 3:20. Drove 20 minutes to get there and just got home one Toyota Avalon the richer. OMG why is buying a car such a torturous ordeaL??? He wasn't even leasing it or anything. He was writing a check. By 8:15 we were both an the edge of just snatching the keys and leaving.
I will say though the particular dealer we went to was very nice. Gave us a good price on it and also on the trade in car and did come down on the price to what my dad was willing to pay. And my mom liked it too. Which is good because my dad made them write 'sale subject to approval of wife' right on the paperwork! This is how they've managed to stay married for so long apparently. Oh and since I get the hand me downs my Caddy is now looking for a new home (thank God because the air conditioning just blew in it, which we told them) and I am now driving a Honda Accord. Which is not a great car but it's reliable and has working air conditioning and I didn't pay for it. So it's perfect.
I will say though the particular dealer we went to was very nice. Gave us a good price on it and also on the trade in car and did come down on the price to what my dad was willing to pay. And my mom liked it too. Which is good because my dad made them write 'sale subject to approval of wife' right on the paperwork! This is how they've managed to stay married for so long apparently. Oh and since I get the hand me downs my Caddy is now looking for a new home (thank God because the air conditioning just blew in it, which we told them) and I am now driving a Honda Accord. Which is not a great car but it's reliable and has working air conditioning and I didn't pay for it. So it's perfect.
(no subject)
I love my accord, lol
hopefully it'll grow on you :-P
(no subject)
hopefully it'll grow on you
I'm sorry, but I think this one is a bad one. It's got the most uncomfortable seats ever and the brakes are so touchy that half the time I feel as though I'd be pitched through the windshield if I wasn't wearing a seat belt. However I'm sure I'll enjoy it and I love the air conditioning :-)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Toyotas
congrats..
Maybe the Honda will grow on you....esp with the A/C.