quinn222: (nick_dan)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 11:14pm on 08/03/2006
So,


I'm really happy Santino didn't win and as soon as I saw the whole collection I knew that he wouldn't win. I was surprised that Chloe won and disappointed. Maybe it was just me but I thought her designs looked very 'homemakerish'. They looked like something you might knock out with a McCalls pattern or something. Also, as someone who does sew I know those heavy shiny fabrics aren't cheap, but they looked cheap. I didn't think Daniel's was his best work but the collection was pretty and cohesive and didn't look like something just anyone could sew.

So I'm glad Santino didn't win and not glad that Chloe did, but I liked her so, whatever.
There are 13 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_sin_attract/ at 04:26am on 09/03/2006
See, I really was rooting for Santino. I didn't like Daniel's and I thought Chloe's was TOO similar...there were only 3 really different types of fabric, and I hated that, what, like 90% of it was that satiny material. I would have rather seen her do some textures and mixing it up. I guess overall, I was somewhat let down by them all in some aspect because I was hoping for this huge blowout from all three, but I did like Santino's sophistication and development.

Haha, sorry...this got a bit lengthy, but you can tell I'm not 100% satisfied with everythine either I guess.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 04:27am on 09/03/2006
My problem with Santino's was that nothing seemed to go with anything else and, as Heidi pointed out, the fit was awful.
 
posted by [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_sin_attract/ at 04:33am on 09/03/2006
Yeah, I did notice that when they did that flash back to the promenade, but I think they caught my eye the most. I really do like his use of textures and mixing this fabric with that rather than one shiny satin dress.
 
posted by [identity profile] jsunny.livejournal.com at 04:27am on 09/03/2006
Is it terrible to think that Daniel didn't win because Kors wanted him all to himself? I haven't been the biggest Santino fan but all season they say to tone it down and what happens when he does--they lay into him. I am almost glad to have a year off from this show.
 
posted by [identity profile] rhiannonhero.livejournal.com at 04:38am on 09/03/2006
I liked Daniel's the best and was annooyed that they kept saying that it wasn't cohesive and didn't tell a story, because I totally thought it was and did. Boo! I liked Chloe, though. But, I have to admit, Santino had grown on me, too...in a Brian Kinney kinda way.
 
posted by [identity profile] mmmorpheusq.livejournal.com at 05:35am on 09/03/2006
I liked Chloe's but (with a couple exceptions) I LOVED Daniel's and I was sure he would win. Santino's was boring AND the fit was awful. All along he's been creating dresses that didn't show the model's body and now we know why - he can't fit real women.

Well, Daniel is very young and he surely has a great future ahead of him. Maybe this was the kick Chloe needed to reach for another level of success. Good for her. But I'm still a bit disappointed anyway that Daniel didn't win.
 
posted by [identity profile] pepsidiva.livejournal.com at 07:54am on 09/03/2006
I was in the Daniel camp as well, although I'm ok with the Chloe win. I've always viewed Daniel's style as classic with clean lines and a subtle, sophisticated fit. I was drawn to his work right away. Although I liked his collection, I agree it wasn't his best work...even still, I believe he has tons of potential and if he had the bit more time and experience that Chloe has on him, he would have taken the win.

Chloe's collection was good, but I would have liked to have seen more separates. I really did like her seams though, as they accented the fit of her pieces which in turn accented the models figure.

So, did anyone else notice when Daniel's model stumbled on her dress at the end of her walk? I thought that wasn't nice that they included that. And, when they went to commercial during the last elimanation, the way they cut the comments and designers expressions...they made it appear that the comment about the garments not fitting in the bustline was directed at Daniel and he made this hugely shocked face, when in fact that comment and reaction didn't go together at all. I kept thinking all through the break, how could they not see where his models boobs went, LOL! Were they saying he didn't accent them enough? Was his fitting wrong? I just couldn't figure it out. Then of course, it became clear...those sly people.
 
posted by [identity profile] shadownyc.livejournal.com at 11:16am on 09/03/2006
ITA! I thought Santino's collection was uninspired and unoriginal, which was actually quite surprising. I agreed with the judges when they said that the garments didn't fit well.

Chloe's win was surprising because I felt her collection was "one note". While it was beautiful, I didn't see variation on the theme at all.

I thought Dan demonstrated his skills with a broad and varied vision and a 3-4 color layering. His tailoring was impeccable.

It seemed that they couldn't bring themselves to award him the top spot due to his youth--that bothered me.
 
posted by [identity profile] aliciamasters.livejournal.com at 12:18pm on 09/03/2006
When I saw the collections online right after Fashion Week, I wasn't as impressed with Daniel V's collection as I am now. (Thumbnails just couldn't do him justice.) I think he would've won if he had foregone the military styling for a simpler Japanese modern concept, instead of blending the two. (And if Rebecca had been able to walk in her dress...eep!)

While I didn't like it as much, Chloe's fit really emphasized the high points of her collection, and the theme was solid. I just never thought it had any moments of genius, and my girls and I all thought a couple were prom dresses. ;)
 
posted by [identity profile] kitkatbyte.livejournal.com at 01:16pm on 09/03/2006
You know, I wanted Daniel to win until the second-to-last episode, when I actually started to like Santino And when the models were on the runway, Santino's dresses looked the most like something I'd like to wear, for the most part. I agree about Chloe's designs, though.
 
posted by [identity profile] basketcase80305.livejournal.com at 07:32pm on 09/03/2006
I thought I would mention the UK version of Project Runway. I have been downloading Project Catwalk hosted by Elizabeth Hurley and I have to say that I like it. One challenge they design a dress for Kelly Osbourne. If anyone is interested I might be able to send you an episode. :) Kim
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 12:01am on 10/03/2006
oooh, I didn't know there was a UK version! I'd love to see an episode if you can manage it. Thanks!
 
posted by [identity profile] basketcase80305.livejournal.com at 06:29am on 10/03/2006
Hi, I am trying to send it through Yousendit.com. Please let me know if there is a better way to send it. It is about 350 MB. I really suck at this kinda stuff. Kim:)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31