Not suprised at all. Sadly pretty much the only suprise for me was the song win by 360 & I supsect that was so the Academy could show how cool & hip they are, hence the cussing allowances.
Me, either. *sigh* I figured the bastards would chicken out at the end. I hate to sound bitter, but I think they knuckled under, fearing some right wing boycott of the film industry, or something.
It also just doens't make any sense to honor the director's work and not the picture *unless* it's a message. Remember when Color Purple won best pic but Spielberg didn't win director? you can have a best director or best pic and still have performers from other movies win specific categories but i don't see how you separate director from film. *iz not happy*
But what's the message if you honor a film for best adapted screenplay and best director and not picture? I mean, those are much more significant awards than editing or props or score or sound effects. (I know it didn't win those except for score.) So, is the message: YOu did a bang-up job and deserve to win but, you know, man-on-man, just um... No, not today. Is that what it is? 'Cause it seems to be very trendy to play queer these days. Not to actually BE queer, but to be brave and pretend to be queer, roll out that barrel, sister! lol
I seem to remember The Color Purple did not win any of the awards it was nominated for that year. Is my memory failing me? I think Crash won because the Oscar voters are usually a step behind where they should be. They are always doing make up votes for actors. Of course you can not do that for Best Picture but I think the next time they can vote for a gay love story they will.
Well...I'm not surprised. Hollywood was probably afraid it would be accused of promoting homosexuality and was afraid of the backlast from the conservatives.
I actually have never commented on this LJ but.... do you all really think that BBM was the best picture of the last year? I just saw it last week and I was rather disappointed, I really think the ending was wrong, I think they should have gotten together in the end OR Jack's death should have been much stronger depicted as a gay bashing.
P.S.: Quinn, I'm a big fan of your Epistolic Fiction, but I don't feel the need to comment on it much, it's just great.
I think they should have gotten together in the end OR Jack's death should have been much stronger depicted as a gay bashing.
It was the best movie I saw last year. I thought Crash was kind of a mess to tell the truth. As far as the ending, I had read the story so I knew what to expect. A happy ending wouldn't really have fit the whole theme of it. The ambiguity was supposed to reflect Ennis' ambiguity. We never know if what Ennis saw in his imagination or what Jack's wife related or even if something in between was what really happened. Maybe it's just me but I liked that. I thought it was more effective than tying it all up neatly.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
You put that really well - since I'm not a fan of Crash at ALL and was of BBM, I hadn't gotten past the personal feeling part to the political part.
I may be really unpopular for saying this, but I would have been much more disappointed if the screenplay hadn't won.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
*sighs*
Sheesh. Grow some, will you people?
(no subject)
P.S.: Quinn, I'm a big fan of your Epistolic Fiction, but I don't feel the need to comment on it much, it's just great.
(no subject)
It was the best movie I saw last year. I thought Crash was kind of a mess to tell the truth. As far as the ending, I had read the story so I knew what to expect. A happy ending wouldn't really have fit the whole theme of it. The ambiguity was supposed to reflect Ennis' ambiguity. We never know if what Ennis saw in his imagination or what Jack's wife related or even if something in between was what really happened. Maybe it's just me but I liked that. I thought it was more effective than tying it all up neatly.