I've been watching the closing ceremonies of the Olympic Games. I've watched the games off and on but haven't really been emotionally involved in any way but I got all sniffly when they handed over the flag to the mayor of vancouver and when they played the Canadian anthem. Not because of the whole 'brave person in a wheelchair' thing. After all, this is a man who clearly is in no need of emotional pity of any kind but because I am so very very proud to be of Canadian descent. Here in America you hear a lot about people of Irish or Italian or whatever heritage. Well, my family blood on both sides is in large part Canadian and I am very happy to say so.
(no subject)
(no subject)
My father's entire family is from Québec (all over the province, they arrived there with the first settlers from France) and my mother's family is from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, around Mabou.
(no subject)
(no subject)
My dad's family arrive between 1870 and 1930 (though lots of them are still in Québec) and my mother's arrived around 1870. Though the one's in my mother's family who didn't come from Canada arrive with the Mayflower. So I'm lucky to be able to trace back to the founding ancenstors of both Canada and the US.
In the case of my father's family they stayed pretty entrenched in their French Canadian enclave. They attended the french church in Boston and attended french schools. My mother was the first non-French Canadian to marry into the family.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
There you go.
(no subject)
(no subject)
Yarlung
(no subject)
(no subject)