ooh! wrong platform fun! even more fun is when the train pulls in on the other platform and you think, "hey, wouldn't that suck if that was my--oh, shit" and then you get to run upstairs and through people and downstairs and oops, there goes the train.
I love NY. :D
he even got a MetroCard, that smart little muffin.
It was quite a feat for Justin to catch the 5 at City Hall station, since only the R & W stop there. On the East side of City Hall (the edifice) is the tail end of the Brooklyn Bridge station, where the 4/5/6 stop. But Justin shouldn't feel too bad - the natives get on the wrong trains all the time, or find out the train that usually goes to one destination is taking an unscheduled and sometimes unannounced detour. That's part of what makes us a cranky urban people. ;)
You're not supposed to take photos in subways anymore (lest the terrorists scope out vulnerabilities), but I haven't seen anyone enforcing it too stringently. And Justin would have to get a Metrocard - can't pay for Subway fares any other way since 12/2003.
A fine distinction. He could at Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall on the Lexington/East Side line (J/M/Z/4/5/6) on the east side of City Hall Park, just not at the station in the picture, which is City Hall on the Broadway line (R/W), west side of City Hall Park closer to Tribeca. If there's a hidden platform connecting the two on the latter, please let the spies let me know, as I could totally simplify my bi-weekly commute down there! :D
Ah, I see. I'm not matching picture to exact locations in the subway (as that would be impossible.) I had him go to the park and then get on the subway so he should be fine.
Poor Justin! Although, not a complete loss. :) I was so stressed that this was gonna happed to me! Why is it amusing when it happend to Justin, but I probably would have had a heart attack if it was me?!? ;P
You know Quinn it is so enjoyable for those of us unlikely to see the Big Apple for a few more years to travel around with the boys thank you cheers Chris
Ah Big Apple subway system can be tricky. And sometimes (maybe very often) you just have to get pass the tkts gate, walk up to the street level, cross the roads, go down the right entrance for the correct side of the platform. Pays twice for the same ride (though with a little detour). Guh!
(no subject)
(no subject)
Coming home I managed to not get lost. Much. LOL -- So true for many newcomers to NYC!
(no subject)
You know I never get my boys into too much trouble. Of course Brian might not think so.
(no subject)
That's why it's so great to start the day with your posts!!! :D
(no subject)
LMAO so many of us in cities can identify with that!
(By the way, the overall awesome-osity of this series makes me happy!) =P
awesome-osity
(no subject)
I love NY. :D
he even got a MetroCard, that smart little muffin.
(no subject)
(no subject)
You're not supposed to take photos in subways anymore (lest the terrorists scope out vulnerabilities), but I haven't seen anyone enforcing it too stringently. And Justin would have to get a Metrocard - can't pay for Subway fares any other way since 12/2003.
(no subject)
(no subject)
http://www.mta.nyc.ny.us/nyct/maps/submap.htm
(no subject)
(no subject)
And, the other challenge is getting the MTA card to actually swipe!
Deb
(no subject)
(no subject)
whatever I dont mind walking!
but I love Justin in Brooklyn. That would be a great spinoff show for ABC... Id be all over that!!
(no subject)
P.S. I love the graphics! ♥
(no subject)
(no subject)
Poor Justin! Although, not a complete loss. :) I was so stressed that this was gonna happed to me! Why is it amusing when it happend to Justin, but I probably would have had a heart attack if it was me?!? ;P
Loving these! :)
(no subject)
*laughs*
Sounds like sth I would do. My sense of direction is practically nonexistent unless I have a very detailed map, that is.
I wonder what Brian's reaction will be *g*
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)