quinn222: (501b sad - made by paddies)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 11:12pm on 07/08/2005
So


The end was the one thing I was spoiled on. Since I had made a policy that if Brian and Justin weren't together at the end I wanted fair warning.

I kept hoping that someone would give an actual reason for Justin to go to NY. Because there wasn't one. And there still isn't one. NY is not necessary to be an artist. In fact, the vast majority of succesful artists don't live or work in NY. How will it be helpful to Justin to go to a place where he can't afford to live much less work? Rather than a place where he'll have the time and space he needs to grow as an artist? Of course it wont be and it's a bullshit storyline because that's what Cowlip (And OMG how happy did it make me to see Cow looking like the walking dead with an orange face in that special?) ..where was I? Oh yeah, that's what Cowlip wanted. For him to leave and Brian to be alone with his asshole friends refusing to allow him to grow up. Which he so clearly wants to do.

However, while NY makes no sense at all for Justin it makes plenty of sense for Brian. Especially with Gus gone to Canada. So as far as I'm concerned they are together in NY living happliy ever after. And I'll be nice and not wish Lindsay to fall under the nearest train. Much.
There are 17 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
ext_5937: (Default)
posted by [identity profile] msdori.livejournal.com at 03:15am on 08/08/2005
And I'll be nice and not wish Lindsay to fall under the nearest train. Much.

Oh, please, let me do it for you. And when Mel jumps down to save her, the train can get her too.

Bitter? You bet.
 
posted by [identity profile] avioletmermaid.livejournal.com at 03:21am on 08/08/2005
I think Brian should have gone to NY too. It makes much more sense then him staying in Pittsburgh.

How about I push Lindsay under the nearest train.
 
posted by [identity profile] tclark1922.livejournal.com at 03:23am on 08/08/2005
However, while NY makes no sense at all for Justin it makes plenty of sense for Brian. Especially with Gus gone to Canada. So as far as I'm concerned they are together in NY living happliy ever after. And I'll be nice and not wish Lindsay to fall under the nearest train. Much. I agree totally w/ this statement, however I can't be as nice as you. I will never understand the "friendship" between Lindz and Brian. I can't recall a single time in the last 3 years when she has unconditionally supported Brian and done what is best for him. I have a strong hate-thing going on for Lindsay right now, not to mention Mel w/ her comments about sacrifice.

Peace
TK
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 03:29am on 08/08/2005
not to mention Mel w/ her comments about sacrifice.

Really, WTF was that? What sacrifice was Juatin making by staying with Brian? Were they going to cut off his painting hand or something?
 
posted by [identity profile] tclark1922.livejournal.com at 03:36am on 08/08/2005
The whole sacrifice thing puzzled me when I first saw the scenes. I understand that sacrificing who you are essentially for a relationship only dooms the relationship to fail; however, there is such a thing as sacrificing one's immediate goals for the good of the relationship w/o harming the relationship. Can you imagine Justin telling Brian that he would be ready to go to NYC when Brian was ready to move Kinnetik hdqtrs there? And Brian telling him he'd get there as soon as possible? C/L strikes again w/ agenda over characterization.

TK
suzy_queue: Animated rain over a rainbow (blue light)
posted by [personal profile] suzy_queue at 03:27am on 08/08/2005
It kind of felt like that Gift of the Magi story - they each want something big for the other, but in the end, each other is who counts. We just didnt get to see the real end. *g* I am fully prepared to imagine up my own ending, since Cowlip missed it.

I would have been happy had it ended with Brian and Michael dancing together, because I love their friendship as a base of the show. But dude, letting everyone else end up paired off and happy while he dances alone, up high and removed from everything? So not right. Kind of ignores five years of character development, just with a kickass song.
 
posted by [identity profile] bluegrace61.livejournal.com at 03:36am on 08/08/2005
**worships you**

CowLip has waved bye-bye to earth logic and the way normal people live lives and deal with CHALLENGES AND BALANCE *looooong* ago.

I have many happy places that I retreat to, B/J being in NYC happily-ever-after'ing it being one of them. So right on!
 
posted by [identity profile] pinkpapyrus.livejournal.com at 03:58am on 08/08/2005
Lindsay makes me twitch in unhappy ways.

In my mind, everything after that Justin-fade-out was Brian on E. Brian went with him to New York and LALALA, no thumpa thumpa!

Or I'll just revert to the no-continuity state of mind and replace 513 with the end of 314. 'Cos, really? It ends up making about equal sense.
 
posted by [identity profile] bidet-of-evil.livejournal.com at 04:07am on 08/08/2005
So Quinn, this means that you have to give us a really super-duper happy shmoopy ending to adventures to make up for that ambivalent piece of crap CL just dumped on us. I was spoiled for the ending, but was hoping against hope that CL would see it in their hearts to pull off an ER/George Clooney stunt or something. Wishful thinking. Brian's always gone on and on that there was nothing keeping him in Pittsburgh, and with Justin in NYC and Gus (screw that bitch Lindsay - living vicariously through Justin!) in Canada, there REALLY IS NOTHING KEEPING HIM THERE!!!! He's always wanted to go to NYC, he's got the accounts (Remson, Brown Athletics, Liberty Air) to keep up with the big guys, he can sell Babylon, the loft and the West Virginia house and have plenty for a place for him and Justin. Where does everyone think Justin is going to come up with the oney for a place to live and work? They didn't get that much money from Rage and he wasn't in LA long enough to make that much money - most money from movie deals comes from the back end - AFTER the movie comes out. There was no movie, hence no money. So Brian's going to play the martyr and wander Britin aimlessly pining for his lost love while he fucks everyone that moves so poor wittle Mikey's illusions aren't dashed? FUCK THAT! To me, this is CowLip saying that instead of their real life committed partnership (CowLip's), they each would rather be single, alone Brian Kinney's. WTF is that? Again, living vicariously? Can you tell I'm not happy?
**(And OMG how happy did it make me to see Cow looking like the walking dead with an orange face in that special?)** Okay, I thought maybe that was just my TV as I got a new one recently -super fancy Sony 27" WEGA Trinitron Flat Screen that rocks my world! but I haven't really messed with the color on it so I wasn't sure if they were really-bad-fake-tan-orange or if it was just my TV. HA!

I have decided! Adventures is Season 5. CL's Season 5 was a figment of our imagination, a mass hallucination. This whole time, Brian and Justin have been traveling the world, seeing the sights, and cementing their relationship. SO THERE COWLIP!

(phew)
 
posted by [identity profile] karbat.livejournal.com at 04:12am on 08/08/2005
I was spoiled for the ending, but was hoping against hope that CL would see it in their hearts to pull off an ER/George Clooney stunt or something. Wishful thinking.
I think we were all hoping for that, but the problem is that in order to give us that kind of surprise, the bastards would have to have hearts, which they obviously don't.
 
posted by [identity profile] mmmorpheusq.livejournal.com at 05:07am on 08/08/2005
Quinn, I am too exhausted to comment properly but I was glad to see that you are among those of us who are angered and saddened by the ending of QAF. Everyone gets a "happy ending" but Brian and Justin and it doesn't even make sense! Justin goes to NY alone - why? And Mikey drags Brian back to dance alone in Babylon. I'm still shaking with reaction, though I was spoiled a few weeks ago. There are no words left.
 
posted by [identity profile] aliciamasters.livejournal.com at 05:40am on 08/08/2005
I know everyone is saying the same thing, but I need to add my two cents. Justin needs to go to NYC to be an artist? The only artist I know of who fed from New York is Andy Warhol. Otherwise, artists drink from their own surroundings and give us their art; it creates a diversity of experiences, and therefore, a diversity of art. He would need to make contact with some galleries in NYC, sure: more art is sold there. He definitely wouldn't need to live there.

I agree, though, that Brian would benefit from a move. So let's assume that after Babylon was resurrected, he left its management to Ted, and moved to New York. He didn't have to be alone. Even Peter Pan has to grow up sometime.

I am not hating Mel and Linds as much as everyone else, I think, because it seemed like they both wanted Brian and Justin to be together; I just think they should have expected Brian to move to NY. Instead, they seemed to be mouthpieces for the Cowlip agenda, which wasn't their role anywhere else in the series.

Artists that did not live in New York:

Pablo Picasso
Andrew Wyeth
Willem de Kooning
Alberto Giacometti
Georgia O'Keefe
Jasper Johns
Frieda Kahlo
Diego Rivera
Mark Rothko

Artists from New York:

Roy Lichtenstein
Andy Warhol
Edward Hopper

This list is the 20th century only. Other centuries' artists are almost all from other places than NYC. It is also from memory, so forgive misspellings and imperfections.


 
posted by [identity profile] suzzanne.livejournal.com at 06:22am on 08/08/2005
I kept hoping that someone would give an actual reason for Justin to go to NY. Because there wasn't one.
It's called bad writing.
How will it be helpful to Justin to go to a place where he can't afford to live much less work?
Writing without logic.
So as far as I'm concerned they are together in NY living happliy ever after
Now THAT'S good writing! This is why the first thing I look for everyday when I sit in front of my computer is your LJ - it's my "happy place".

::sigh::





 
posted by [identity profile] paddies.livejournal.com at 10:21am on 08/08/2005
As always Quinn, I totally agree with you.


I'm starting to think that we share a brain...;-)
 
posted by [identity profile] charlie-jae.livejournal.com at 10:23am on 08/08/2005
It didn't occure to me that the move was senseless (maybe cause I was in a state of shock), until I started reading the view's of others. (Who had more coherrant thoughts than I).

While I agree (i forgot who said it)that the guys seemed a bit rushed in the whole wedding thing (don't hurt me!) I thought it was unfair that everyone else got their happy ending and Brian and Justin got the impending-doomed-never-gonna-see-yah-again ending.

Unfortunately I didn't get to see the good-bye special, I don't have showtime, 513 had been sitting on my hardrive waiting to be viewed. hehe.

I need to lay off the caffiene in the morning, hehe.

Latah
 
posted by [identity profile] shadownyc.livejournal.com at 10:29am on 08/08/2005
I, too, imagine a definite future with B/J--either in NYC or in their country estate in WV. Justin can paint anywhere and Brian can be the owner of an ad. agency in both/either location.
 
posted by [identity profile] dd2-edge.livejournal.com at 11:16am on 11/08/2005
I haven't seen 513 yet but I'm pretty much spoiled.

I have no problem with Justin moving to NYC. True, an artist could paint regardless of where he lives, but I do think Justin needs the exposure as a young promising artist and it'd do him good to go to NYC. I think it's a smart move, career-wise.

I just have problem that there is no sign of any discussions between Brian and Justin on their future, be it plans for Brian to visit Justin or relocate to the Big Apple eventually. We're shown in S1 and S3 how Brian wants to leave the Pitts for NYC. It doesn't make sense that he mentions nth about a relocation plan. If it's about giving Justin space, he doesn't have to move right after Justin. All I ask for is some signs that Brian indeed considers such a plan in the longer term and tells Justin about it.

::sorry for the rant:

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31