quinn222: (schmoop)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 11:14am on 07/08/2005
I know the Last Epsiode is airing tonight, and I feel as though I should be really upset about that. I guess in some way I am. I’m upset that we won’t see any more new episodes. But I kept asking myself why I wasn’t more upset. I think it’s because I’ve spent so much time looking forward and projecting forward where the boys might be that for me the fact that the episodes are ending doesn’t mean that the story is ending.

After 414 a lot of people were really upset about Justin going to LA. I remember YMing with [livejournal.com profile] burnitbackwards about it and saying that it didn’t bother me. That I thought it might even be a good thing for them. That was kind of the catalyst behind Correspondence. Tonight people may be over the moon with joy over 513 or not so much (I don’t know) but either way, the future holds what we choose it to hold and not what Cowlip forces on us.

So new episodes end but the lives of the characters go on in our heads and hearts and fics. At least they do in mine.

Yes, I am looking at the bright side. I have the S5 DVDs to look forward to. Lost is coming to DVD and S2 is starting soon. Entourage is still going on and is renewed for S3. I have lots of new friends here on LJ and I hope you all stick around being your wonderful selves on your LJs for a long time. Because, truly, that is the very best thing I got out of QaF.
There are 20 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] bluegrace61.livejournal.com at 03:23pm on 07/08/2005
the future holds what we choose it to hold and not what Cowlip forces on us.

*Exactly*! Thank you for that :) It's all in the eye and the mind of the viewer.
 
posted by [identity profile] ohyeah36.livejournal.com at 03:39pm on 07/08/2005
I agree with you completely 100%.
I was wondering why I wasn't more upset too, but you put it perfectly. The friends and experiences that I (and a lot of others, too) have gained from the show is the best thing about it.. not necessarily the show itself.
Right on!
 
posted by [identity profile] dd2-edge.livejournal.com at 03:39pm on 07/08/2005
the future holds what we choose it to hold and not what Cowlip forces on us

Well said, hon!

Here (http://www.livejournal.com/users/dd2_edge/34523.html)'s my little thought.

 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 03:46pm on 07/08/2005
Is it spoilery? If so I'll check it out tomorrow. I'm actually a bit spoiled but I'm trying to avoid all spoilery reactions for now.
 
posted by [identity profile] dd2-edge.livejournal.com at 03:44am on 08/08/2005
check it later, then:)
 
posted by [identity profile] paddies.livejournal.com at 03:46pm on 07/08/2005
I know the Last Epsiode is airing tonight, and I feel as though I should be really upset about that. I guess in some way I am. I’m upset that we won’t see any more new episodes. But I kept asking myself why I wasn’t more upset. I think it’s because I’ve spent so much time looking forward and projecting forward where the boys might be that for me the fact that the episodes are ending doesn’t mean that the story is ending.

I feel the exact same way.

I did it since S4 started (cos I strongly disliked it), and I kept doing it up until now.
Fanfiction and awesome projects (like Corispondence or Adventures) helped me out with that, but basically, for those two years QaF is been a "looking forward" or "exploring the past" thing... never a "let's stay in the present". :D

the future holds what we choose it to hold and not what Cowlip forces on us.

Amen. :D

:x:x:x
 
posted by [identity profile] miniera.livejournal.com at 04:01pm on 07/08/2005
Well said.
 
posted by [identity profile] damietta.livejournal.com at 05:16pm on 07/08/2005
Beautiful, Quinn. I'll be around. I never thought I'd enjoy the internet so much, and I might even one day get up the nerve to actually make a post!
 
posted by [identity profile] blameitonsciety.livejournal.com at 05:18pm on 07/08/2005
Wow. I could not agree more with everything that you just said.
I've been asking myself why I'm not sad or anything and it's precisely because these characters will live on through my imagination. That's what got me through most of these episodes, anyway.
And just like you, I wasn't really upset at Justin leaving for Cali because I knew he'd be back and if not, regardless of distance, he'd always have that special connection with Brian. and thx to my fine imagination they'd make occasional trips back and forth for some hot & steamy sex
I haven't read fic in a looong time. Maybe the occasional gapfiller. But I'm hoping there will be some good stories after tonight because I will definitely give them a shot.

I really love this line btw:
Tonight people may be over the moon with joy over 513 or not so much (I don’t know) but either way, the future holds what we choose it to hold and not what Cowlip forces on us.
So very true!
 
posted by [identity profile] shadownyc.livejournal.com at 05:40pm on 07/08/2005
I really like your attitude and am trying to hold the same. Being on LJ now helps me think that QAF is not ending, but as you stated, just discontinuing the new episodes. I look forward to LJ chat and more wonderful fics. Your series "Correspondence" & "Adventures" is one thing that helps me see the glass as half-filled, rather than half-empty! :)
 
posted by [identity profile] scatterheart.livejournal.com at 07:19pm on 07/08/2005
Lost is coming to DVD and S2 is starting soon. Entourage is still going on and is renewed for S3. I have lots of new friends here on LJ and I hope you all stick around being your wonderful selves on your LJs for a long time. Because, truly, that is the very best thing I got out of QaF.
I agree so very, very much - the thought that there are new shows that I like and that I made lots of friends who will be around when QaF is not makes the ending so much easier to take. :)
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 08:38pm on 07/08/2005
have lots of new friends here on LJ and I hope you all stick around being your wonderful selves on your LJs for a long time. Because, truly, that is the very best thing I got out of QaF.
That, for me, has been the highlight of this whole thing.I enjoy reading the different post from the folks here on LJ. Whether it's a new job, a bad day or a hot, smutty fan fic. QaF brought us together.
 
posted by [identity profile] bentley1530.livejournal.com at 12:14am on 08/08/2005
Before QAF and the QAF fandom I was content to spend a few hours a week on the internet at the local library. Once I found this rich world of talented people, I finally had to break down and buy my own computer so I could spend as much time as I wanted enjoying what so many people like yourself have been willing to share with the rest of us. So while I do not on changing my habit of checking your journal with my first cup of coffee, this is as good a time as any to thanks for the fun.

 
I really like the gradient used on "Schmoop". I have been looking for nice "rainbow pride-type" gradients for use in redo of the New York Area Bisexual Network (http://www.nyabn.org) site.

What is it? Where can it be found? Is it for public [non-commercial] use?

Thanx
 
I made it, feel free to take it and use it. Credit would be nice,
 
Actually it is the "rainbow" lettering in particular rather than the icon itself I was asking about.

I am assuming it was made with some sort of PhotoShop Gradient (.grd) file.

It is that (.grd) file I was after and would be pleased to give credit.

Thank you again.
 
I made that ages ago and I'm not sure I still have that. I'll look when I get home. Also, I applied quite a few filters to it as well.
 
Okay, I think it was one of these two gradients-

http://quinn.webaxxs.net/misc/schmoop.grd
http://quinn.webaxxs.net/misc/schmoop2.grd
 
Thank you so much.

Have downloaded and begun the "fooling around with it to see what works best" process.

Very strange that I couldn't seem to find a nice selection of LGBT Pride Rainbow Gradients ready-made. You'd think there would have been more call for them.
 
posted by [identity profile] bksbracelet.livejournal.com at 08:17am on 11/08/2005
Hi Quinn Yes I will be still reading your journal and in Aus we still have to air all of season 5, because of the message boards I am aware of what happens, but I am still looking forward to it Cheers Chris

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31