quinn222: (bm made by paddies)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 09:15am on 04/07/2005
Just a few thoughts on Entourage and QAF, spoilers for both through last night's eps.


One of the things I really love about this series is it's fast pace. This whole Aquman/James Cameron thing is dragging out a bit too long for me. I hope it gets resolved next week.


and


Not a lot to say. I found this one to be an interesting transition episode. Everyone seems to be going though one at this point. For a change the lesbians were handled in a realistic way and not demonized. Lindsay is the worl'd worst liar though. Whenever she's lying or otherwise upset she gets that silly little girl's voice going and isn't even a little convincing. Could be Thea Gill though. Remember that cringeworthy moment in S1 where she was doing her Rodney King imitation?

Nice to see Drew again, I think I jumped as high as Emmett when he grabbed him though! I like the way they are handling his outing too. It happens. People are outed against their will and it's good to see them touching on that. I adore Emmett of course and you can see why in this ep with the way he handled Drew. He was kind but firm and truthful and gave excellent advice.

Michael and Ben. Going through the loss of a child in totally different ways. They'll come around. Michael was thoughtless to get rid of that bed but I can see why he did it. He often deals by denying something matters to him when it's so obvious that it matters very much.

Justin confronting his father. It's one of those Hunter things for me. I know I should be emotionally engaged, but I'm not. Partly because I feel as though Craig is being demonized in a bad!fic kind of way. He was always a homophobe and a jerk and a hothead, but there was never any indication from anyone that he was this kind of person. I feel as though he's yet another charazcter who's being stuffed into a wrong shaped box to fit a stoyline.

Which brings us around to Brian. This was a good episode for him. The contest actually turned out to be a good thing for him. Brian is one of those people who has to learn things for himself. Especially he has to learn about himself on his own. People telling him things doesn't work. He needs to see and experience for himself. The worst thing for him recently was that feeling of being out of control. Brian is a total control freak and the idea of Brandon shoving him out and taking over was clearly intolerable. But you could see at the end that he was okay. He'd proven to himself and Brandon that he is still on top so now he can just bow out gracefully and on his own.

Also I loved that speach he gave to Ted. He was willing to show Ted that yes, he is entirely aware of the fact that he is who he is and why. And that he knows that's probably not such a good thing. I also like the parallel all the way back to S1 when Emmett asked Ted (about Brian), "How did he ever survive growing up in that house?" and Ted replied, "Who's to say that he did?" For a change they bring it full circle and have Ted involved in the conversation again. He did survive, by building a wall that even he is having a hard time bringing down.

Oh, and one final thought. I really love Carl.
There are 14 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 07:34am on 04/07/2005
I too love Emmett, and thought he did well last night. But,I hate his silly outfits, even when they are nice in an outlandish kind of way. Em's silly outfit mean he's going be doing something goofy and that's getting a little old. So when Em was walking down the street with the silly hat & matching scarf, I expected and over the top reaction. But when Em got in Drew's car & pulled that har off, I knew it would be good.
 
posted by [identity profile] damietta.livejournal.com at 07:57am on 04/07/2005
The Ted and Brian dynamic has been one of the great things about late S4 and this year. I enjoy it so much. They both need friends and their building friendship and respect is wonderful to see. And, Ted owning that he wasn't the same guy was tremendous. Brian's speech to Ted was very good as well.

I was also glad to see that someone (trick #10 to Brandon and #5 to Brian) witnessed that Brian won. If Brandon had just shown up at Babylon everyone would have assumed Brian lost.

Happy 4th!
ext_5937: (Default)
posted by [identity profile] msdori.livejournal.com at 08:11am on 04/07/2005
I'm pretty sure that there were some people, seeing Brandon in the club, who DID think that he'd won the bet. The story would have enventually made the rounds, but there are bound to be some people who were out of the loop. That Brian let Brandon stay, knowing that there would be people who thought he'd lost the bet, just boggles my mind.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 08:16am on 04/07/2005
That Brian let Brandon stay, knowing that there would be people who thought he'd lost the bet, just boggles my mind.

I think everyone knew Brian had won. Remember Lindsay said there wasn't anyone in Gay Pittsburgh not aware of the bet and there were witnesses and signed documents proving each trick. I'm sure there was a ton of gossip about that bet. Also Brian's tenth had a shrine to Brian in his apartment. I bet he started spreading the news immediatly that Brian Kinney had actually gotten on his flight to Mexico for the sole purpose of fucking him.
ext_5937: (Default)
posted by [identity profile] msdori.livejournal.com at 08:48am on 04/07/2005
Yeah, if it had been a week or so after the bet was over, I can see everybody knowing. Gossip's fast, and by then the tenth trick would have been back from his trip. If it was the next night, though, everybody might not have gotten the memo. I don't really see Brandon waiting a week to try to get back into Babylon, though. He's not exactly Mr. Patience. <G>

But the timeline is so screwy this season, who can even tell how much time passes when?
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 08:51am on 04/07/2005
But the timeline is so screwy this season, who can even tell how much time passes when?

OMG yes! Did you how big the kid playing JR was?
 
posted by [identity profile] shadownyc.livejournal.com at 11:49am on 04/07/2005
Really enjoyed reading your comments. I just finished posting mine, so I'm glad I didn't read yours first. We have some similar points. I definitely like Ted/Emmett & Ted/Brian interactions very much lately. When you get a chance check out my ramblings.
 
posted by [identity profile] suzzanne.livejournal.com at 01:44pm on 04/07/2005
Did you just bust a gut with Ari's comment of Lloyd's new look - "Michelle Quan in drag" ? All that tweed and argyle and the sassy hat! I just sat here last night and laughed my @$$ off well beyond the end of that segment. I'm still having laugh-inducing flashbacks today. :D

Bows to Quinn for pointing me in the direction of Entourage.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 02:33pm on 04/07/2005
Did you just bust a gut with Ari's comment of Lloyd's new look - "Michelle Quan in drag" ?

Yes! And poor Lloyd looked so crushed that Ari didn't like it.
 
posted by [identity profile] suzzanne.livejournal.com at 03:05pm on 04/07/2005
He even had a name for it - The Andre 3000. Poor Lloyd put a lot into that outfit.

And how funny was Vince not knowing Bob Saget? What a slimeball - Saget, not pretty Vince.
 
posted by [identity profile] shadownyc.livejournal.com at 03:10pm on 04/07/2005
I've read about Entourage from you and many others. Do you know the best way to get a hold of the episodes without buying the DVD's or HBO? I only have Showtime.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 04:32pm on 04/07/2005
Some Blockbusters rent it, or Blockbuster online, you could check there. I don't know if there are any torrents or anything for it.
 
posted by [identity profile] filmsboutghosts.livejournal.com at 01:39pm on 06/07/2005
I get mine from mininova.org
 
posted by [identity profile] tatertot086.livejournal.com at 02:59am on 05/07/2005
i don't comment...ever... but i am a faithful lurker. love your adventure series. now on topic time ;P

He did survive, by building a wall that even he is having a hard time bringing down.

for some reason i really love that you said that. i for one did not even realize that, but it's so true. i think that brian's regretting that he built his wall so well...

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31