quinn222: (501b sad - made by paddies)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 12:01pm on 20/06/2005
Just reiterating because people don't seem top be getting what I said:



I DO NOT THINK JUSTIN IS WRONG FOR WANTING WHAT HE WANTS. I said that. I've said it many times.

I've also said that Brian has been behaving like a jerk. Neither one of them is being written well. My problem with Justin is that I think he's going about getting what he wants in a really stupid way. If he approahced it differently I think he could get what he wants. Instead it's as though he wants what he wants but he doesn't want it with Brian. Because he's certainly not doing anything to get it from Brian. And that's fine. If he doesn't actually love Brian then get the hell out.

I totally disagree with those who think Brian hasn't changed or hasn't given in. He has. But there is Justin, totally changing what he wants in the blink of an eye and then not actually communicating it to Brian until the very worst possible moment. The movie fell through. So what's his next step? Not finishing his education, not looking for a job, not earning any money. Marrying, buying a house and having kids. Makes perfect sense.

So Brian is behaving like a jerk (to everyone) and Justin is behaving like an idiot. It's not pretty. I'm hoping this passes but since it's all the fault of the writers I'm getting worried. This is so shades of S2 it's terrible. Next we'll have Justin moving into a rat infested dump with an artiste and accepting a cheap ring because that's the true meaning of love. God only knows what they'll have Brian doing. If they follow form he'll be tricking in a drug induced haze.

These two are becoming so one dimensional. A relationship for Justin has become a 1950s sitcom and for Brian it's become a horror film. It was never this way for them before (or at least not for either of them since S2), why now? What are Cowlip setting us up for? With any luck it's just because they know they need angst and they are talentless hacks who can only come up with one storyline and it will soon pass.
There are 18 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] joesther.livejournal.com at 09:13am on 20/06/2005
Warning: Justin apologist comment to follow. ;)

I'm really getting disgusted with Brian at this point. I mean, yes, I can understand his feeling sorry for himself that the guy didn't want him, but he needs to grow up the hell up and realize that it's not all about the everlasting youth and sex-appeal, but the more substantial, important things in life like love, companionship, compassion.

The way I see it, Justin's stuck. He knows he loves Brian, but he also knows that he can't live that kind of lifestyle anymore. He can't put his life at risk on a daily basis, not knowing what STD he could contract next just because his partner, the man he admittedly loves, has pain management issues. Because, see, I don't think Brian tricks because he wants to. I think Brian tricks because he needs to, and that's a whole different kind of problem, a whole different issue.

I don't agree with you that Justin's changed in the blink of an eye. I think that the drawer symbolized something to him that maybe Brian didn't mean for it to symbolize. And honestly - they were a lot more couple-y back at the end of S4 before Justin went to LA, when Brian asked Justin to move in with him. I see Justin as stuck with his 308 promise - that he didn't expect - or want - Brian to change, but now he does. Or rather, he wants their relationship to change: to grow and mature, not to stagnate. It's been two years since he made that promise - that's a long time to be held down. It's normal for people to change; I expected it of both Justin and Brian. Justin fulfilled my expectation. Brian hasn't.
 
posted by [identity profile] shadownyc.livejournal.com at 09:19am on 20/06/2005
I am clearer about where you are coming from. Cowlip's scripting for B/J is weak and stilted--particularly in the area of body language--which both actors are quite good at. They are writing B/M/H very well (IMO). I once heard a radio interview where Ron said the he/they patterned Michael after Dan, which is why I guess he gets the most depth right now (and is the final word on sanity and clear-thinking).
 
posted by [identity profile] paddies.livejournal.com at 09:27am on 20/06/2005
Oh Quinn, I couldn't love you more if I tried...:x:x:x:x:x:x:x

Again, I agree 100% with what you said. S5 and particularly the latest few episodes are a nightmarish-writers-on-crack version of late S2.

If I was Gale or Randy I'd be extremely happy that the show is over. Just the thought of another season like this one, and I'd shoot myself. ;-)

*loves*
 
posted by [identity profile] jane2005.livejournal.com at 09:29am on 20/06/2005
I'm hoping this passes but since it's all the fault of the writers I'm getting worried. This is so shades of S2 it's terrible.

Agreed. With everything you say. The above just cracked me up - maybe a touch of hysterical laughter? The seems to be totally about plot - and we're reverting to S2, and even regressing into Uber-S2 - and not revolving around the characters as they stand, esp. post S3-4. It's as if the two seasons were erased. Damn, I wish I had more to offer than just "ITA."
 
posted by [identity profile] gporn.livejournal.com at 09:43am on 20/06/2005
I fully agree that Justin's timing was completely off. Where in five seasons has Brian flipped out that much? Okay, now where in five seasons has Justin flipped out that much? We all remember the screaming outside his building, don't we? Brian's been there many, many, many, many times when Justin had a problem. The guy even offered his home, money, time, and overall support when he really didn't have to. Even after Jennifer came to the office, Brian could have taken the kid home, and where ever Justin went after that wouldn't have been Brian's problem.

Now, fast forward to a time when Brian's suffering from a full on Queening out moment and what does Justin say?

"I thought we could be more like Michael and Ben."

Not, "I know it's upsetting" or "You're still hot to me" or even bringing it up after faking sympathy.

I guess we'll just wait and see.
 
posted by [identity profile] forever-frozen.livejournal.com at 10:33am on 20/06/2005
ITA. Couldn't have said it better.
 
posted by [identity profile] gporn.livejournal.com at 11:50am on 20/06/2005
i was also going to say that it took Brian five years (or close to it) to finally admit that he liked Justin around and wanted him to move in. I don't think that two days later he's going to admit to marriage or wanting anything else. He just needs more time...
 
posted by [identity profile] equusentric.livejournal.com at 09:49am on 20/06/2005
I've already left my opinions on this in the ep discussion on queerasfolkfans, so I won't repeat it here.

But I agree with you that while yes, Brian is being a little unreasonable, so is Justin. I simply do not understand why Brian is being villified while Justin is made out to be the angel. He's acted really distant and strange since the beginning of the season.

He was certainly no saint in LA. I honestly do think he had sex with Connor twice. I seriously think that if the movie hadn't tanked, or even if Brett had said he could stay at his place until he got another job, that Justin wouldn't have come back. He obviously didn't tell Brian, "Yes, I'll move in when I come back," otherwise he wouldn't have had to check if the offer still stood. He's seemed rather stilted and reserved around Brian...certainly not like how he acted around Brian before he left. And now all of a sudden he's pushing this agenda and pushing for it NOW, and it doesn't really make any sense.

Okay..stopping before I write a novel here. But yeah...I'm with you, Quinn.
 
posted by [identity profile] leftovert.livejournal.com at 10:16am on 20/06/2005
These are the times I'm grateful that I don't favor either Brian or Justin or I'm sure I'd be trying to rationalize the behavior of either of them so that they don't come off nearly as bad as the other one.

For my money they're pretty much running neck in neck for the award of "Most Distinguished Arse". Okay, maybe that's a little harsh but I truly find both of their behavior's understandable yet also inexplicable. I think because it just feels so contrived and out of nowhere. If they wanted to do this story in S4 when Brian was still in his cancer arc, Brian's absurd, nasty behavior would have made total sense. Of course they couldn't play the Justin who doesn't get what he wants angle, but one is better than nothing. But having them play this now, after all of that, after 414 especially is out of left field. I'm sure if I tried hard enough I could connect it to Justin's disappointment with the movie failing and being pulled back to Pittsburgh but if he's the one who says that there's one thing L.A. doesn't have that Pittsburgh does then I have to believe him. And if I don't believe him, then I think he's lying and he's not where he wants to be and either way Justin looks assy.

Brian who went from cycling down lifes endless highways to draw the conclusions that he needed to spend more time with his son and wanted Justin to move in, who supported and stood up for Michael at his wedding and threw him an impromptu reception has now decided marriage is evil and anything remotely resembling it should be shot down in flames. All because Justin slighted him by staying in L.A.? I don't know, I wish I did. And it's not that I don't understand his wanting unconventionality but responding "four weeks" to a question of how long they've been together is ridiculous and I totally understand his insecurities as well.

The fact is neither of them are communicating the way they should be, the way we were left to believe was possible at the end of S4 and both of them are just putting distance between them in order to preserve their wants and desires. You can't have a relationship if all you're concerned about is having your principals win out in the end. I don't believe this is where the B/J story was ever headed and the fact that it is now is aggravating and why I'm annoyed with the writers and not the characters.

Whew. Didn't know I needed to get that out! Sorry about that Quinn. :-)
 
posted by [identity profile] mi-nion.livejournal.com at 07:11pm on 20/06/2005
YES, yes, a thousand times yes. I don't think ti's all Brian's fault & I don'tthink it's all Justin's. As usaual it's both their faults. Is this season 2 redux? I don't know, but what I do see are two people so caught up in their own drama, that they can barely look at much less listen to their partner. And aged be damned after 5 years on this merry go round these two seriously need to pull back and check themselves. Yes, this time Brian is voicing his fears about no longer being young and beautiful & Justin stated that he had hoped moving in together would mean they would be more of a couple. Thing is it's all spitting in the wind because neither was listening and trying to understand when the other said that.
 
posted by [identity profile] bidet-of-evil.livejournal.com at 11:05am on 20/06/2005
The other thing I hated about this episode was the whole "Brian's competition" guy (I won't say his name cuz I don't think they said it in the episode and I know you are not spoiled).

#1: the guy is SO *not hot* (Butch!Emmett from the cyber sex episode in Season 1 is *way* hotter and sexier than this guy)

#2 is CL trying to tell us that Brian has never, ever been rejected by anyone in his entire life? That everyone just falls to their knees and opens their mouths when he beckons? As hot as Brian is, and as much of a stud as he is, I find that seriously hard to believe.

#3 Since when has Brian ever doggedly pursued anybody? Isn't his mantra "Never go after anyone?" So why is he going after this guy?

Okay, so maybe Brian is still smarting a little from the whole cancer thing, and this is a blow to his ego, maybe a sort-of mid-life crisis thing, but knowing Brian and Brian's fragile ego the way that he does, couldn't Justin be a little more supportive? All Justin has to do was show Brian he is still the hot hung King of Liberty and all would be fine. Instead he mocks him.

The characterization of B/J in the past couple of episodes has been so way off, I don't know what to think anymore. It's like CL had these storylines that they molded the characters to, not the other way around.
 
posted by [identity profile] ljnewfan.livejournal.com at 11:53am on 20/06/2005
CL had these storylines that they molded the characters to, not the other way around.


Exactly. I've seen this happen since season 2 and it ain't pretty. C/L is right at the top of my sh*t list.
 
posted by [identity profile] reboot-wlm.livejournal.com at 12:01pm on 20/06/2005
Neither one of them is being written well.

I think you've hit the nail on the head right here.
ext_55779: (Default)
posted by [identity profile] ayesakara.livejournal.com at 12:22pm on 20/06/2005
I feel your pain. The last 2 eps were very painful to watch!
 
posted by [identity profile] westleyo.livejournal.com at 12:31pm on 20/06/2005
You guys are blaming the wrong two people. Brian and Justin are fine. It's the the writers who have lost their minds.
 
posted by [identity profile] dean1955.livejournal.com at 02:26pm on 20/06/2005
I am starting to think they should have ended the show with episode 314. I just remember the sense of accomplishment and hope at the end of that episode and season. I used to await EVERY Brian and Justin scene and interaction. Right now, I am starting to dread them. Usually by this time on Monday, I would have watched the previous night's episode 3 or 4 times...I have not turned the television on since the show ended last night. My how times have changed.

We deserve so much better. I have hope, but it is starting to dwindle after every episode.

Hang in there gang!
 
posted by [identity profile] u2-grrrl.livejournal.com at 04:47pm on 20/06/2005
Without reading anyone elses comments to your post:

I have to wonder what the point of the cancer and the Liberty ride were last season. After the ride, Brian said he had realized some things. And yet, this season we are back to late S2 Justin and Brian. WTF?? Why are we way the hell back there? Why can these 2 suddenly not communicate? Why have they suddenly learned nothing about each other over 4 years?

*Hate* Cowlip...hate them so.
 
posted by [identity profile] mai-ling134.livejournal.com at 05:49am on 21/06/2005
It is interesting to me to read that you blame the writers. So many in the fandom are finally coming around to this conclusion. It is not the characters. They have no free will. They are written by two of the worst writers and control freaks in TV history. S5 so far has only two points of view, black or white; you are a Stepford fag or a promiscuous club boy. There is no middle ground, no nuance, no dealing with adult feelings. Only immature temper tantrums by all parties. The only thing I can thank them for is that they have finally cured me on my interest in the show. They have bored me to death.

I will stick to wonderful fic and enjoyable adventures like you post. Your daily travelogue is a bright spot in the day.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31