quinn222: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] quinn222 at 09:35am on 09/04/2005
Locked my prev. post as even though it's my opinion I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings. Now I have a wedding related question that has nothing really to do with the Royals.

Turned my TV back on and now they are in some sort of church. As near as I can tell the altar and the place where the wedding is going to take place is in some sort of small room way at the front of the church where most of the guests can't actually see it. Is that usual? Is that how churches are laid out over there? Or is that a protestant thing? For all I know they are laid out that way over here as well.
There are 12 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] ethics-gradient.livejournal.com at 06:40am on 09/04/2005
They had a private civil wedding in The Guildhall registry office and then went to St. George's Chapel in Windsor Castle for a religious service of blessing.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 06:43am on 09/04/2005
St. George's Chapel in Windsor Castle for a religious service of blessing.

That's the part I just saw. It looked as though there is some kind of seperation between where they are now and where the guests are seated. The family are all in wooden choir stall kind of things in there but the guests are all in folding chairs outside that area. I'm not making any sense.
 
posted by [identity profile] ethics-gradient.livejournal.com at 06:51am on 09/04/2005
I think it's me that's not making sense. Probably because I wasn't actually watching the thing at the time. The layout you were describing is typical of traditional Anglican (Episcopal) churches. There is often an elaborate screen between the two parts.
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 08:33am on 09/04/2005
There is often an elaborate screen between the two parts.

Thanks for explaining that. I was trying to figure out what I was seeing :-)
 
posted by [identity profile] bigboobedcanuck.livejournal.com at 06:45am on 09/04/2005
Locked my prev. post as even though it's my opinion I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings.

Well now I really want to know what you said. Tease!

Was it about how stupid it is that England is having a hard time accepting Camilla, and how she and poor Charles should finally have some happiness? I mean, I'm sorry, but what's the big deal? Sheesh!
 
posted by [identity profile] quinn222.livejournal.com at 06:47am on 09/04/2005
Since I've already offended people I'm not repeating it but it was neither that nor Camilla hate. More of an (apparently) institutional disrespect shall we say?
 
posted by [identity profile] bigboobedcanuck.livejournal.com at 07:08am on 09/04/2005
More of an (apparently) institutional disrespect shall we say?

Ahhhhh. I can imagine, then. :)
ext_66100: (Default)
posted by [identity profile] ozchique.livejournal.com at 06:53am on 09/04/2005
Diana was the 'people's princess' and regardless of her own indiscretions she can do no wrong in many peoples' eyes. As an Australian, Charles will become our King and no matter how much the Palace tries to deny the fact, the British Government has announced Camilla will be our Queen. It's a hard fact to swallow, since for as long as I can remember, we have been transfixed by Diana and the thought of her one day becoming our Queen. It would be best if Prince Charles stepped aside and allowed Prince William to succeeed his Grandmother to restore some dignity to the family, but it seems Prince William is one of the most reluctant royals I've ever seen. I'm not against the Royal family, I'm not keen for an Australian Republic, but I'm not keen on Camilla. I'm happy for Charles, but Diana is still fresh in our memories, she still makes the cover of our magazines. We still love her.
 
posted by [identity profile] bigboobedcanuck.livejournal.com at 07:07am on 09/04/2005
I liked Diana and while obviously she is very well-loved still, I just think it's...well, she's dead. Charles has loved Camilla almost his whole life, and I'm so happy for them. I don't think he has anything to apologize for at this point regarding the dignity of the royal family. But YMMV. :)

I'm Canadian, so Charles will be our king, too. But we are far less interested in the monarchy, and as a nation are very live and let live. We're just like, "Oh, Charles married Camilla finally. That's nice." Gay marriage, legal marijuana, Charles and Camilla...it takes a lot to ruffle our feathers. ;)
ext_66100: (Default)
posted by [identity profile] ozchique.livejournal.com at 07:19am on 09/04/2005
I'm sorry, I didn't know you were Canadian. As I mentioned I'm not particularly fussed either, but I guess Australia is a very proud nation and the fact is at this point we have no choice but to be associated with the British Royal Family whether we like it or not. And Charles does get on some people's nerves. He was recently on a Royal visit and to tell you the truth, no one really gave a damn. We were too infactuated with HRH Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary of Denmark who were by far more elegant, glamourous and media friendly. I don't think the issue is the wedding as such, unlike the British, but we very much have an issue with them representing us. In fact, I think the repulicans are gearing up right now to make another charge at us to see if they can once again force a referendum on the issue. And this time, they may just win- that's come much this wedding is upsetting people.

But, yeah, I'm glad for Charles in a way, everyone should get to marry the one they love. And he has certainly waited long enough.
 
posted by [identity profile] bigboobedcanuck.livejournal.com at 01:58pm on 09/04/2005
I'm sorry, I didn't know you were Canadian.

No worries, mate. ;) ("Canuck" is actually a nickname for Canadians, so I thought that would have given it away.)

The thing I don't get about a lot of people not wanting Camilla to be queen is that Diana wouldn't have been queen anyway, since she and Chuck were already divorced. It just seems like such a non-issue to me.

Every once in a while someone here will say, "Hey, why DO we have the queen on our money?" Then we'll forget about it. Must be all the pot me smoke, it makes us lazy! Heh.

 
posted by [identity profile] juteux.livejournal.com at 06:45pm on 09/04/2005
I was so happy for them too! :)) It was like watching Grandma and Grandpa getting married. Nice old people in love. Awww. And I think he waited an appropriately respectful length of time after Diana's death to marry her (nevermind the fact that he was carrying on with Camilla during his marriage, but that's neither here nor there).

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29 30
 
31